Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Busy Summertime, CSA Week Six

This week’s CSA box was grabbed up in a hurry, stashed in the front seat of the car (by the air conditioner) and shuttled away to its fun, summertime destination:   CAMPING!

Yup.   We are happy campers.   And, I am so thankful that we have a travel trailer so that I can store my fresh veggies from the desert to enjoy.   I know my family loves it and I’m pretty sure our friends appreciated a little bit of healthy to go with all of the junk food and booze that we usually have in camp.   (ha ha)

So, what goodies did we get this week?

Two cantaloupes, a HUGE red, seedless watermelon, a bag of islander and yellow bell peppers, cucumbers, (more) eggplant, lemon basil (it smells soooooo good), regular tomatoes and (BONUS!) green tomatoes, summer squash (yellow bar and roly poly), and a yummy bag of green beans.

image

The green beans were a big hit in camp.   I steamed them up and added just a touch of bacon for savory.   It was a fantastic side dish to my hubby’s grilled chicken with his grandpa’s secret recipe BBQ sauce.   Mmmmm mmmm!

The fruit share is back this week and was a nice box of peaches and pears.    We put some peaches on the grill with the chicken as well.   I think I ate two whole peaches with my dinner.   I highly recommend grilling fruit.   And, eating it outdoors.

image

I have a ton of new ideas from the Eggplant Challenge so I’m going to give it another chance.   And, worse case scenario, I really like the idea of just using an eggplant blend to thicken up sauces.   I might have to google what the nutritional benefits of eggplant are and see if this adds some good vitamins or something.   Hmmm?

I took more pictures in camp and have some new recipes to share so stay tuned.    These shots were taken with my phone in the parking lot and I was in a hurry to get out of town.   Bear with me.   It’s summer.   It’s busy!

7 responses

  1. Wow! That is a ton of fruit!!! Love the idea of grilling it. Hope to try it one day, if I can get it outside. I normally hoard the fruit and eat it standing at the kitchen counter. I clearly have no self control 🙂

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/15/whats-in-the-box-39/. Hope to see you there!

    August 21, 2012 at 6:23 am

    • I stood at the kitchen counter this morning arguing with my 3 year old about fruit for his lunchbox today. OMG. Is that sad or what??

      August 22, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      • not a fruit fan?

        August 22, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      • The opposite. He wanted to eat all of the peaches! I wasn’t sharing very well. haha

        August 22, 2012 at 4:31 pm

      • lol! Sounds like my near future…

        August 22, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  2. I should be getting more peaches this weekend, so I will have to try grilling them! Looks great. 🙂

    August 22, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • If I get more peaches this week, I think I am just going to grill them and sit by the BBQ eating peaches until I’m sick. Yup. That’s the plan. LOL

      August 22, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Leave a comment