Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

The Long, Dry Winter

Hello … is anyone still out there?

It has been a while since I’ve dusted off the keys and posted something on this site.   I’ve been busy.   Ha ha, haven’t we all?

And, because of that, things are under construction here at “Fresh Veggies.”   I will not be subscribing to a CSA this year.   I will be attempting to kill (uh, grow) my own veggies.

WHAT??!  WHY?   Don’t I still love Lattin Farms?   Yes, I love Lattin Farms.   And, mostly likely, I will still purchase their offerings this year.   But, I’m not doing the CSA.   Because of the current drought and water allocation for Lattin Farms, the growing season will be shorter and limited.   Sooooooo … I’m going to tough it out in the suburbs and figure out how to make things grow, too.

My husband also has a green thumb.   We are in this together.   And, he’s handy so he built me some mini-greenhouses to get started.

Here’s what I’ve got going on so far:

PVC fixin's to get the greenhouses together

PVC fixin’s to get the greenhouses together

Recycled old milk jugs for mini-hot houses

Recycled old milk jugs for mini-hot houses

Greenhouse bases with plastic lining

Greenhouse bases with plastic lining

Good garden soil

Good garden soil

Seeds planted, lids on ... grow babies grow!

Seeds planted, lids on … grow babies grow!

Personal saunas for future transplants

Personal saunas for future transplants

 

Are you wondering what I have planted in my little greenhouses?   Stay tuned … if they ever actually grow, I’ll report back.   If not, I’ll be shopping at Lattin Farms.   Either way, all good.

What are you planting this year?

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    Good for you, growing your own! I’m envious of the greenhouses–I’d like to think I’d get a longer season if I had a cover for my raised beds, but there are other pressing homeowner-y things ahead on that To Do list.

    April 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    • I understand. My husband gets all of the credit on those. I’m a lucky girl.

      April 19, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

