Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA Autumn Week 4 (10/24/13)

wpid-20131024_174151.jpg

 

The winter veggies just keep coming!   I’m happy to see a nice variety in this week’s CSA share.   I am still a little worried, though.   It is really dry out there and I know my farm is struggling for water.   C’est la vie for gardening in the desert, I suppose?

What was in this week’s box?  (All organic from Lattin Farms unless otherwise noted)

  • Stripetti Spaghetti Squash
  • Butter Lettuce
  • Green Tomatoes
  • Shallots
  • Mixed Peppers
  • Garlic
  • Sage
  • Potatoes from Holley Farms
  • Onions from Peri & Sons

And, just in case you wanted to see what autumn looks like from near my house, this is a little fishing hole a few miles from where I live:

image

 

The county stocks the pond with trout and we have managed to catch a couple of them.   My husband is better at catching than I am but I do enjoy the zen of trying.   How about you?

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    It looks so gorgeous in your photo! I love the big sky and wide open space.
    I enjoy the zen, but I like to catch when I go deep sea fishing.

    October 28, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    • Deep sea fishing? Ya, that sounds a little more exciting than our little pond. haha

      October 29, 2013 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

