Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Mixed Pepper Hot Sauce

I have been stockpiling my CSA share of hot peppers lately just waiting to make a batch of hot sauce.   All sorts of peppers:  jalapenos, serranos, fresno, romanian … and I even bought a couple of extra habaneros to throw into the mix.   My pepper farming efforts this year completely failed so I knew that I wouldn’t have a full batch of the same peppers just from the CSA box.   I figured I could come up with something good, though.   And, I did.

20131012_141336

My creation is called:   STANKY SAUCE!    I started to title this blog post something like “I love the stank” or “All About Stank” and then decided that would probably pull in a bunch of really bizarre spam comments that have nothing to do with a nice, wholesome veggie blog like this one.   (eh hem)

I started with a little Google searching and, one of my favorite resources, Punk Domestics.   I love that site but, fair warning, it’s a little food snobby (in a good way).   Then, I compared notes with a couple of other sites and discovered that fermenting the peppers is a good base to add for a nice hot sauce.   There are tons of options on how you could go for a sriracha or a more Tabasco-style and even a sweet hot.    If you are interested in making your own sriracha, try Peppermeister’s recipe … look around on that site for a while, there are some other good recipes to try as well.

I decided that a briney-fermented, stanky sauce with some pow-pow HOT is just what I wanted.

Well, well, well.   I just happen to have (forgotten about) a jar of mild green peppers that I did in a salty dill brine last year.   Perfect base, almost like I planned it.  (haha)

20131012_141354

Then, I had to char the skins on my fresh peppers and cook them up a little bit.   The trick to this is to get a good little burn going on the peppers but not completely kill them.   Maybe, 70-80% char and, then, you put them in a sealed container so that they steam out nicely.    After that, the skins just peel off (for the most part).   I trimmed the stems off but kept all the seeds and innards and juicy goodness for the mix.

20131012_142212   20131012_143104  20131012_144319

I did actually use the gloves.   And, I’m glad.   I have a feeling that I would have killed my hands and probably stuck my finger in my eye, resulting in death for most of the afternoon.   I am happy to report that I avoided disaster here and only had a few coughing fits due to pepper capsaicin inhalation.    Hot stuff, for real.

I blended the pickled peppers (brine and all) with my skinned fresh peppers using an immersion blender to get this:

20131012_153826

 

Now, at this point, some people choose to filter/strain their sauce to get just the liquids.   I opted for the full (slightly chunky) version.    And, after taste testing … WHOOEEEEWWWW!   Hot.   Hot.  Hot.    I decided that I still needed to kick it up a notch.    This is where lightning struck and I realized that I am a genius.    Beer.   This hot sauce needs beer.    And, not just any beer, a good stinky one.   Bitter, hoppy, stank beer.   (the good kind)

20131012_144410

 

This is my favorite.   Icky.   It’s named after the ichthyosaur, or state fossil of Nevada.   It’s about 7% ABV and hoppy all day long.   It’s a local brew, Great Basin Brewing Company.   And, it’s good.    Get some, if you can.

I’m pretty proud of this one.   But, it’s only for the truly brave.   It is a hot and powerful stanky sauce.   Not for dipping chips into or anything like that.   Maybe, it could blow the tortilla off a good fish taco or get added to some manly chili beans … it might kick some canned peaches to curb as well.    This is the real deal.

20131012_161451

 

Six beautiful little jars of screaming hot, stanky goodness.    I think Santa will keep these for his special elves.

 

6 responses

  1. Yum, that looks incredible. Beer and peppers, a match made in peppermeister heaven! I’d love to get my hands on some of that stank. You will soon find yourself planning your meals around your hot sauce, much like we do. I made a middle eastern harisa sauce last week and insisted that we get some lamb kabobs immediately to try it out.

    October 13, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    • That sounds pretty tasty. Why wasn’t I invited? Oooh, the 3000 miles away thing. hhhmmmppppttt

      October 14, 2013 at 9:03 am

  2. Sharlea, I’m glad to know pepper capsaicin inhalation is a real thing–I sure feel it in my throat when I am cutting peppers, even if I’ve got my pepper gloves on.
    I felt it when I was standing outside of the grocery store 15 feet away from the roaster that was full of Hatch chiles!
    This sauce is pretty cool of you to make, and I’m very impressed.
    Thanks!

    October 19, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    • Definitely a real thing. I love peppers but sometimes breathing them in like that is worse than eating them.

      October 20, 2013 at 1:49 pm

  3. OK, I need to get some beer and make this. Looks so good. We got mixed hot peppers this week in the CSA and also a friend is giving me hers.

    I was thinking of doing more hot pepper jelly, but I like this direction.

    October 26, 2013 at 5:52 am

    • I did hot pepper jelly last year and it was OK but I was the only one that liked it. I’m thinking about saving some of these for gifts! 🙂

      October 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

