Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Autumn Week 2 (10/10/13)

 

 

This week’s goodies are definitely feeling more like the autumn harvest.   And, I’m loving it!

image

 

What did we get?   (All organic) acorn squash, mixed greens, early girl tomatoes, mixed peppers, green leaf lettuce, shallots, popcorn on the cob, thyme, radishes from River Bend Farms, onions from Peri & Sons, potatoes from Workman Farms and broccoli from Nevada Fresh Pak

Just look at the popcorn on the cob!   The instructions said to let it continue to dry until Christmas.   Last year, we just put it in a brown paper bag and microwaved it.   Fun!

image

 

Radishes, have I told you lately that I love you?   I do.

image

 

This is the first time I have seen broccoli from Nevada Fresh Pak.   It looks good!

image

 

The newsletter/instruction sheet this week has some great recipe ideas so look forward to seeing some posts about roast beef and veggies, maybe some broccoli soup and definitely a stuffed baked acorn squash.   I’m feeling all chef-like so I think I might even try my hand as some hot sauce.   Spicy!

What are you plans for this week?

8 responses

  1. Very cool! I think those peaches you canned up would go great with some habaneros for a sweet and fiery hot sauce!

    October 12, 2013 at 6:28 am

    • Boom! You are a genius. I’m heading out now to the store for a couple of things and then I’m making some sauce this weekend!

      October 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

  2. I need to fall back in love with radishes, Sharlea. Beet greens seem to have bumped them out of my heart. Perhaps a new loaf of bread will help me.
    Your haul looks wonderful, and I’m envious of the popcorn!

    October 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    • The popcorn is a pretty fun treat, isn’t it? I just eat radishes raw … nom nom nom.

      October 15, 2013 at 8:05 am

  3. I traded for popcorn this week. The half shares got it and I gave up a couple of green tomatoes to get it.

    I have enough tomatoes in the house!

    I love radishes too. This week though, we got scarlet turnips and I need to dig around for something new to make with them.

    And, we are drowning in broccoli. There were two huge bags of it in our box Thursday. I may blanch it, and break out the food saver to freeze some.

    Ah, fall! Change in seasons, change in veggies!

    October 26, 2013 at 6:12 am

    • My husband (who does not normally go all crazy for veggies) has been sauteeing the broccoli and cauliflower in olive oil and garlic. Very yummy! 🙂

      October 27, 2013 at 2:25 pm

  4. My family loves all things organic too! Keep up with your wonderful efforts! Never give in to GMO stuffs! 🙂

    April 16, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

