Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Adventures in Canning 2013

I caught the canning bug last year.   Pretty bad, actually.   I did peaches and pears and pickles and applesauces.   I also made some canning mistakes like not getting the seal  on those pears and letting them explode in my cabinets.   (Ya, that was gross.)

This year, I have it again.   And, I’m going to try to do better on my hot jars, hot lids, hot bath, hot everything procedures.   Let’s start with two flats of fruit from Kelley’s Canyon Ranch.   Mmmm.   Good stuff.

image

image

I have a super cute “helper.”   He made Lego vehicles in the kitchen and I tried to keep him away from the hot stove.

image

I also have super cute blue jars.   I mean, really??   They are just pretty.   I put the pears in them because I thought it was a better color compliment.

image

The peaches were a bigger hassle than the pears.   Pears were just peel and seal with some syrup.

The peaches require blanching to peel, which also includes pretty much burning your hands over and over and over again.

image

They came out kinda pretty, too, though.   Don’tcha think?

image

I should probably include a recipe of some instructions but … I’m feeling a little lazy.   If you have questions, please let me know in the comments.   Otherwise, I did a very light simple syrup with lemon in both the peaches and the pears and I boiled everything for much longer than I did last year.   There’s science for you.   Boil everything.    The jars, the lids, the food after you put in the jars.   Hours and hours of boiling water.

image

I heard lots of lids popping as they cooled on the counter, so that’s positive reinforcement.   I have also chosen to store them in the fruit boxes on the floor in the laundry room until I’m sure they aren’t going to just explode in the pantry.    (Lesson hopefully learned.)

4 responses

  1. Good going, Sharlea!
    My canning pot keeps filling up with tomatoes, thanks to the neverending supply from the garden, so every week or two I’m doing a load of them–I’d like to be doing some fruit as well (the idea of canned pears is so appealing right now!). I’ve got crushed tomatoes, unseasoned tomato sauce (cooked down tomato puree) and seasoned tomato sauce at this point, and there’s still so many left that I’m considering chutney, jam, and ketchup.
    I’m getting tomatillos every other week in the farm share, so I’m whipping up a batch of salsa verde since I’ve got the pot up. I think I’m looking at my third batch tomorrow.
    Don’t forget to remove the rings before you store (I kept mine on for years, but learned at FoodInJars that it’s better to store the jars without rings).
    I am sure you will have wonderful canning luck this year–those pretty jars look terrific.

    September 29, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    • I didn’t know that about the rings. Good one! And YUM — tomatillos!

      September 29, 2013 at 7:14 pm

  2. Greats pics! I’ll be pickling peppers and making hot sauces this weekend. Those peaches look super tasty.

    September 30, 2013 at 9:18 am

    • Trade ya — hot sauce for peaches? 🙂

      September 30, 2013 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

