Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 12 (09/26/13)

image

This week marks the end of the summer share for the CSA.   And, it was a very different year that last summer.   I think that water is a pretty serious issue for my farmers and, well, you can tell.  I hope that it changes soon for them, for lots of reasons.

The fall CSA starts next week and is $162 for six weeks.   I do have to admit that the share size seems a little smaller this year for that price.   But, I don’t mind paying for the quality produce that comes in these boxes.   I love my Fallon farms!

Here’s what was in the box this week:

  • Early Girl Tomatoes
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Globe Eggplant
  • Mixed Bag of Jalapeno and Romanian Peppers
  • Bag of Red Leaf Lettuce
  • Shallots
  • Corn
  • Melon
  • Thyme
  • Onions

Isn’t this thyme wonderful?   I can’t wait to add it to a roast or stew.

image

And, I love peppers!   Mmmmm, mmmmm, mmmm!

image

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    I just handed over the check for the fall CSA here. I should probably annotate my calendar since I’ve no idea when it starts (I assume it picks up after the summer one ends), and I know the final pick up is actually a home delivery the Tuesday before Thanksgiving.
    We pay $25/week for a large share, which is less than we paid in Virginia and I’d say the share sizes are about similar.
    I love the heavy fall boxes, filled with squash and sweet potatoes that will store in my Strategic Winter Squash Reserve well into the new year.
    But first, I’ve got the canning pot on the stove, and tomatillos to put up.
    Thanks!

    September 29, 2013 at 4:44 am

    • Hee hee … you laugh at my next post … I’m canning peaches and pears! OH! And, I noticed something the other day. Two things actually. Even though my reader says that I am ‘following’ you, your posts never show up in the feed. AND, it’s a miserable bugger to post a comment. I love that you always comment and I look forward to what you type. It has taken me this long to figure out how much of your other wonderfulness that I am missing. Ggggrrr. I’m working on it a fix-it for that. 🙂

      September 29, 2013 at 8:50 am

Leave a Reply

