Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fresh Food Finds

This weekend was all about some local tasty goodness.

My husband caught a rainbow trout in a nearby pond.   It’s tiny but wasn’t going to make it if he had released it so we had a nice little appetizer out of it.

image

 

We made a bruschetta out of veggies from the weekly CSA.   That’s Nevada tomatoes, onions, basil and (oops some canned olives) the bread is from a ‘local-ish’ store out of Truckee, California.

image

 

Next up, fresh peaches and pears!   Mmmmm.   Now, these might be a stretch because they are from Idaho.   But, I bought them from a gal that lives here in Reno because her family owns the farm.   She brings them into to ‘town’ to sell.   And, they were the fruit supplier for my CSA last year.   Kelley’s Canyon Orchard in Filer, Idaho.

image

 

And, BONUS, I picked up some local (as in down the street) honey while we were at an elementary school fundraiser.   Literally, the kids from the farm were selling these jars of honey.   How could you say NO?   I’m going to check out their beef prices.

image

 

Did you find any fun local foods this weekend?

4 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    I didn’t find any local foods this weekend, I walked a half marathon instead, but between the garden, the farm share, and the neighbor’s best friend from grad school who raises beef and chicken . . . I’m turning into quite the local eater. I mean I knew I would be fairly local due to the farm share, but the garden’s really producing supplements (celery and tomatoes come to mind), and the freezer is full of Butch the steer. I made a ridiculously local vegetable beef soup for my coworkers the other day, and I have a local vegetable beef stew tonight. (There’s a theme, yes, as 110 pounds of Butch came to me in ground form) Must use up some of the ground beef so I have room in the fruit and veg freezer again and can continue to put up vegetables.
    I love that you got honey at a school festival–that’s awesome.
    Thanks!

    September 23, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    • Wow. Way to go — half marathon, NICE! Oh, and, I think you have “local” dialed. 🙂

      September 24, 2013 at 1:31 pm

  2. Now THAT’S some fresh fish! Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    October 3, 2013 at 12:32 am

Leave a Reply

