Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Image

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 11 (09/19/13)

I started to name this post “I Love Ugly Tomatoes” and then went back to the format that I have been using this year.   But, the whole post should really  be about just those organic heirloom tomatoes, shouldn’t it?   No?  OK.   Here’s what I got in the box this week:

  • Seedless Watermelon
  • Canary Melon
  • Romanian Peppers
  • Globe Eggplant
  • Juliet Cherry Tomatoes
  • Yellow Onions
  • Garlic
  • Garlic Chives
  • Raspberries (that I am promising myself to not just let the Goblin eat)
  • oh, ya … some awesome heirloom tomatoes!

image

image

I love how they are just ugly.   Makes you wonder what other stuff that looks all weird but would actually be good, doesn’t it?   Makes me think that I was wrong for always picking the “pretty” produce.   Who taught us to do that??

image

4 responses

  1. Nice haul! I’m not a tomato fan, but I must admit that when Jules is roasting some local heirlooms the house smells heavenly. How do use those garlic chives?

    September 21, 2013 at 7:35 am

    • They are just like regular chives with a slight garlic taste to them. The newsletter suggested putting them on scrambled eggs in the morning. I have a feeling they will get used with dinner, though.

      Sooo … what’s the full tally for peppers this year?

      September 21, 2013 at 8:13 am

      • Sounds great, after a really slow start, thanks to a very rainy summer, my plants have finally started producing. I’ll be picking away until the first frost and I’m estimating about 1100 pods picked this year, way off from my preseason prediction of 2500!

        September 21, 2013 at 9:32 am

      • 1100 is still a hefty number!

        September 23, 2013 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

