Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Roasted Garlic

One of the easiest things on earth to do is roast garlic.   If you are a big fan of its savory flavor, do yourself a favor and buy a ton of garlic to roast at home.   It will make your house smell fantastic and, the next time you cook with it, you will feel like you invented food.   Good stuff.

I tried a new trick this time and put the cloves in a muffin pan in the oven.   It was easy to clean and kept the oil from going all over the place.   Nice time saver-easy to clean.

Just add some olive oil and put it in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour or so (until the cloves are soft).   Then, save it in the fridge until you want to use it.   Or, cover a french baguette of bread with it and enjoy!

 

4 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    I love roasted garlic, too! I really like how a frozen clove of roasted garlic just melts into a soup, stew, sauce, pizza dough . . . really anything I throw into it.
    I’ve never tried to roast in a muffin tin, but that’s a clever idea I’ll remember for next June when I roast my next crop!
    Thank you!

    September 15, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    • It was a first for me to use the muffin tin. In the past, I have used a terra cotta pot just for garlic. It’s nice but it’s small.

      September 15, 2013 at 7:10 pm

  2. I use a muffin to roast garlic also 🙂

    September 15, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

