Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Image

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 10 (09/12/13)

 

 

 

 

Hello out there in the Blogosphere!   For those of you keeping track, no … I did not forget about blogging last week or purposely miss Week 9.   I was on a nicely planned camping vacation.   If you would like to see some of those photos, check out my other blog at Gingerlea Photography.

I gave last week’s box to a friend, who may or may not guest post about her CSA experience sometime in the future.   I heard a rumor that she is big on juicing and actually made a fancy soup with her Vitamix machine.   We’ll see …

For this week, here’s what was in the box:

image

 

A Sarah’s Choice Melon, Seedless Watermelon, Globe Eggplant, Romanian Peppers, Cherry Tomatoes, Slicing Tomatoes, Shallots, Green Beans, Basil and Raspberries.

I know I have gone on and on about the raspberries in the past but they are soooooo good.   As in, I’m thinking about making the two hour round trip drive out there to pick some more.   That good.

image

 

And, if you were wondering why it’s worth it to get more raspberries, this is what happens to the ones in the CSA box when they get to my house:

The Raspberry Goblin inhales them.   Photo evidence.

image

 

Oh, well.   There’s worse things for a kid to get excited about, right??

As for the rest of the haul, I’m thinking there is a basil, tomato, pepper salad in my future with some feta cheese and a vinaigrette.   I love fresh ingredients.   Yum.

On the other hand, I have a serious amount of garlic just sitting on my counter.   I’m feeling a big roasting session coming on this weekend.   It’s easy and the garlic keeps well.   Bonus features:   no vampires at my house and easy spreadable garlic on demand for every piece of french bread that I can find.

Do you like roasted garlic?   Any new ideas for how to use it?   I love garlic in everything.   Share something creative with me!

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    The Raspberry Goblin is adorable! I’m with him, I love fresh raspberries and gobble them up when I can.
    As for garlic, I usually roast darn near my entire crop shortly after harvesting, and keep it in my freezer. I use the CSA garlic for fresh garlic needs, and the roasted stuff goes into pizzas, sauces, really any garlic need I have. I like how it just melts into a dish. I have a garlic section on my visual recipe index and most of it refers to roasted garlic. I should consider separating out just the roasted garlic for it’s own section of the index.
    Thanks!

    September 14, 2013 at 12:38 am

    • I love my raspberry goblin dearly. And, YES, roasted garlic certainly deserves a category of its own. 🙂

      September 14, 2013 at 5:57 am

Leave a Reply

