Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 8 (08/29/13)

image

image

This week’s haul included a couple of late summer surprises (all organic):

  • Sarah’s Choice melons/cantaloupe
  • Seedless watermelon
  • Mixed summer squash
  • Japanese eggplant
  • Mixed peppers
  • Corn
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Early Girl tomatoes
  • Garlic
  • Raspberries  (whaaaaaaaaaaaat??!!)
  • Rhubarb

image

The raspberries barely made it home because my little boy loves them.   He had a huge helping with dinner.

And, as weird as rhubarb can be, I really love the smell.   So sweet.

The CSA newsletter included a yummy recipe for desert.

Rhubarb-Raspberry Crunch

1 cup white sugar

1 tbsp instant tapioca

1 tbsp cornstarch

1/8 tsp salt

4 cups rhubarb, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1 cup raspberries

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

1/2 cup butter, chilled

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.   Great a 9×13 inch baking pan.   In a large bowl, combine sugar, tapioca, cornstarch, and salt.  Place rhubarb and raspberries into bowl making sure to completely coat with dry ingredients.   Pour into baking pan.  IN a medium bowl, mix together brown sugar, flour and oats.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles pea-sized crumbs.  Spread on top of fruit mixture.  Bake for 45 minutes or until rhubarb is tender.

Sounds pretty tasty to me.

I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to try this recipe quick enough, though.   The boy is really loving those raspberries, straight out of the container.   Let me know if you make it!

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    Lucky you! I love fall raspberries. I’m not sure what I love more–the flavor or the fact that I could pick them when it wasn’t breathtakingly hot and humid out, but either way, it’s a nice crop. I think we need to add some fall-bearing raspberry canes to our back yard. I’m sure something will die to give me room to plant. I’m intrigued by this Crunch recipe, and wondering what I can sub for rhubarb since I have none. Let me think on that one.

    I’m glad you changed back to your CSA!

    August 30, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    • Me, too. And, somehow, they manage to grow those raspberries in a pretty arid place. I know you can go out to the raspberry patch with a bucket and pick all you want for $5!

      September 1, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Leave a Reply

