Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 7 (08/22/13)

 

 

It’s another great week of veggies in Nevada.   I am so happy to be back in the CSA.   I get super excited for Thursdays because I know there will be a new veggie box.   Nom nom nom!

What’s this week’s haul?   All organic–I know I say that every week but it’s really that important.   Those peeps out at Lattin Farms work hard to keep their freshies fresh, the old-school way!

  • Sarah’s Choice Cantaloupe
  • Seedless Watermelon
  • Mixed Summer Squash
  • Islander Peppers
  • Slicing Cucumber
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Japanese Eggplant
  • Early Girl Tomatoes
  • Corn
  • Garlic
  • Basil from Mewaldt Organics
  • Green Beans from River Bend Farms
  • White Onions from Pioneer Farms

image

image

 

Here’s a close up of the basil — can you smell it?   I was trying to inhale the bag on the way home in the car.   I love fresh basil.

image

 

Ya know what goes well with basil?    Tomatoes!  I see a caprese salad in my future …

image

4 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    Those white onions are HUGE!
    We got to pick our own vegetables yesterday at my CSA pick up because a lot of their helpers have gone back to school. I was choosing photogenic peppers . . . reminds me, I should download the photo!
    Thanks!

    August 22, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    • Isn’t funny that we like photogenic foods better?

      August 23, 2013 at 5:30 am

  2. Looks beautiful!! Not bad for the desert.

    August 23, 2013 at 5:22 am

    • We have some interesting little micro climates here. 🙂

      August 23, 2013 at 5:32 am

Leave a Reply

