Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 6 (08/15/13)

 

 

What’s in this week’s Veggie Box?    Take a look:

(all organic)  yellow canary melon, Sarah’s choice melon, seedless watermelon, mixed summer squash, islander peppers, slicing cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, globe eggplant, bobcat tomatoes, corn, parsley from Mewaldt Organics and green beans from River Bend Farms

image

 

I’ll go ahead and apologize for the crappy, blurry photos.   I must have been excited about veggies and didn’t take the time to do a better job.   Oh, well.   Better luck next week.

 

image

 

What am I going to cook with all of these fine goodies?    Well, we are going camping this weekend so the squash, eggplant and corn are going straight on the grill.   I plan to eat most of the watermelon straight off the rind while sitting on the beach and, yup, if I do find a seed … I’m just gonna spit it right out on the ground, hillbilly-style.    This box is pure summer and I’m going to enjoy it as such.

I haven’t posted any recipes or cooking adventures lately because we haven’t really done anything exciting with the fruits and veggies other than just eat them.   Raw.   Au naturale.    I love a good salad or to just throw some veggies on the BBQ with a steak.   You can only post so many pictures of that on a blog.    Uh … I guess there was a little bit of bacon involved in a green bean cooking incident.   I could have posted that.   You can never see enough bacon, right?

What are you making cooking plans for right now?

9 responses

  1. Want. To. Devour.

    August 16, 2013 at 6:20 pm

  2. Blurry or not, those veggies look delicious to me.
    I’ve got piles and piles and piles of tomatoes from the farm share and from the garden, so I will be canning crushed tomatoes . . . sometime. I need to mentally wrap my head around it and get started then I’ll be fine. I want to do it while my daughter (and co-canner) is home to help out.

    August 17, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    • My hubby loves tomato sandwiches so it is hard to keep an excess of maters at my house!

      August 18, 2013 at 6:40 pm

  3. So nice to have you back Sharlea 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    August 21, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    • It’s good to be back–I should have just done the CSA thing the whole time.

      August 22, 2013 at 7:12 am

      • you live and you learn 🙂

        August 22, 2013 at 10:32 pm

      • definitely

        August 23, 2013 at 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

