Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Great Basin Basket CSA, Week 5 (08/08/13)

 

 

This week’s box was so heavy that I could barely carry it out to the car.   Seriously, I’m glad that I’m not paying for produce by the pound here!

image

 

What was in the box?   All organic Galia melons, cantaloupe, seedless watermelon, mixed summer squash (crook neck, yellow/green zucchini), islander peppers, cherry tomatoes, Japanese eggplant, cucumbers, early girl tomatoes and basil from Lattin Farms, basil from Mewaldt Organics, green beans from River Bend Farms and red onions from Pioneer Farms.

Just look at these goodies:

image

image

 

Everything smells so good.   The basil is sweet and tangy, the onions are sharp and the fruit is like candy.   I think I might just eat all of it raw.   No cooking required.

wpid-20130808_171903.jpg

 

Or, maybe you could help … with some fresh ideas … what would you make with these ingredients?

2 responses

  1. Man, Sharlea–I was out of town this past week and a friend picked up our farm share for us . . . so we hit a farm stand on the way out of Delaware and stocked up on sweet corn and peaches. I thought I was going to be using my freezer stash for veggies. Then my friend brought over the empty crate, and what they didn’t care for (cabbage, eggplant, and red onions) so now I’ve got plenty to work with until Wednesday’s pick up.
    We also picked up a cantaloupe, for the female composting guinea pig Crystal (ok, we’ll eat some too) and while driving along the endless highways I came up with an idea to try a cantaloupe pizza (with cantaloupe in the crust as well as on top–with prosciutto). I’ll let you know. The problem with returning home on a Friday evening, after eating pizza for 3 nights in a row at my favorite pizza places, is that I’m really wanting to make my own–but too tired to start.

    Today I walked down to the grocery store and picked up freshly roasted Hatch chiles, and tonight the kids and I made a tamale pie using patty pan squash, fresh corn, red onion, ground beef and Hatch chiles in both the meat mixture and cornbread on top. That will be up soon–it was good.

    August 10, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    • Oh wow — cantaloupe pizza!!? Hmmm … maybe with some proscuitto? That’s a great idea! And, then, hatch chile tamale pie? You are a food genius!

      August 12, 2013 at 7:24 am

Leave a Reply

