Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Galia Melon

 

Summertime is all about fresh melons.   Cantaloupes, watermelon, honeydew … and, now, GALIA.    This cantaloupe looking treat was a new one for me but I knew right away that it was going to be wonderful.   When you can smell the sweet goodness of a fruit right away, you know it’s gonna be great.

image

 

Cantaloupe on the outside, honeydew on the inside …

imageimage

According to Wikipedia, “The Galia, also known as Sarda سردا(Urdu) in southeast Asia, is a type of F1 hybrid melon originating from a cross between the green flesh melon cultivar “Ha-Ogen” and the netted rind melon cultivar “Krimka”. Developed in Israel at the Ne´ve Yaar Research Center of the Agricultural Research Organization (ARO) by the melon breeder Dr. Zvi Karchi and released in 1973, Galia melon was named after the first name of Karchi’s daughter that means “God’s wave” in Hebrew.”    

Interesting.    All I know is that my taste buds liked it.    I’m a little freaked about how seeds/plants are developed and bred but I trust my Lattin Farms to grow it organically so, I’m going to not think to hard about this.

 

The taste was a mix between cantaloupe texture and watermelon flavor with a little bit of a different tang.   Really good.   This was one of the first things for me try out this week’s veggie box.   I’m so happy to be back with Lattin Farms!

image

 

Have you ever had a Galia melon?    How do you feel about how plants are modified/bred/etc?    I’ve been doing more research about GMO stuff but I’m not sure how I feel about it right now.

2 responses

  1. Sharlea,
    Never had a Galia, but I know that most cultivated plants have been bred by somebody (just think of Gregor Mendel and his peas, that’s breeding plants) though I’m not interested in Frankencrops. Your melon doesn’t sound like a frankencrop to me, and I’d like to taste one.

    August 13, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    • You are totally right. Not a frankencrop and because I do “know” this farmer, I’m willing to eat more of it. 🙂

      August 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

