Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

The Veggie Box is Back!

I have returned from the desert wasteland of fresh options in Northern Nevada to report that I should have just stayed with my tried and true CSA box from last year.   The co-op in town is good but not convenient for me.   The other basket/subscriptions are OK but not always local.   And, the farmer’s markets are less than I had hoped for in my area.

The Great Basin Basket CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) subscription by Lattin Farms is the way to go.   For real.   Boom.   Don’t mess around with anything else.   Know that your farmer is in Fallon and your food is fresh.   Done.

You can expect to see weekly reports from me about what’s in the box through the fall and I will gladly pay whatever the subscription costs because it has always proven to be completely worth it.   I managed to get in on the summer subscription after it had already started and the membership coordinator happily pro-rated my weeks through September.   This costs $29 a week.   Paid in full, in advance with eager anticipation.

Here’s what I received today:

image

All organic summer squash, seedless watermelon, sweet peppers, eggplant, early girl tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, garlic and a Galia melon from Lattin Farms.  There is also a bag of green beans from River Bend Farms and two big red torpedo onions from Pioneer Farms.

Aren’t these onions glorious?

image

What’s a Galia melon?   According to the handy dandy instruction sheet that comes in every veggie box, a Galia melon looks “like a cantaloupe on the outside and a honeydew melon on the inside and offer a delicious, sweet flavor.”   All I know is that it smells like heaven.   This should be really good this weekend when it’s hot outside and I’m craving something cool and sweet.

image

 

I can’t wait to taste those little yellow cherry tomatoes.   nom nom nom

 

Can you believe that I’m even excited to see the eggplant?  Now, if I could only remember which blog posted an eggplant recipe recently that actually looked good.    Any suggestions on that one?

image

 

For my pepper peeps, these are Antohi Romanian Sweet Peppers and the veggie instructions included an interesting story about them:

“Jan Antohi was a touring acrobat when he defected to the United States.  In late 1991, he visited his family in Romania for the first time in more than 8 years, and came back with seeds of this delicious heirloom.   Romanians fry these in a hot skillet to experience the sweet, full flavor.”   

I remember these peppers from last summer and can attest … THEY ARE TASTY!

I’m excited to try some new recipes and share them with you again.   Tonight’s menu is easy:  grilled chicken and grilled summer squash.   Put ’em on the BBQ and get ‘er done!  Yum.

13 responses

  1. What a haul! And you get an instruction sheet too? Enjoy!!

    August 2, 2013 at 4:40 am

    • I love the “newsletter” that comes with the veggies. I would be lost without it. Bonus: there’s recipes on it too!

      August 2, 2013 at 5:36 am

  2. Jamie Vaughn

    I can’t wait to get started! This all looks awesome!

    August 2, 2013 at 8:41 am

    • It’s sooooo good. You’ll find yourself totally nerding out over veggies. It’s fun!

      August 2, 2013 at 8:53 am

  3. Sharlea,
    I can’t say I’m surprised by your return to the CSA. You didn’t seem to happy with the alternate plan. I’m delighted for you that you could join mid-season.
    I’ve just chopped up a bunch of lemon yellow colored bell peppers, along with a couple purple ones and a standard green one (mostly boys, but a few girl peppers my daughter tells me). They are freezing on a tray and I’ll move them to zip bags tonight. I’ll have to ask if they are Romanian–the color is similar.
    I like how easy it is to enjoy an easy dinner from the farm share. I put up a picture on FB the other night of my easy dinner from the farm share–the last of the hummus with kale and sumac spread across the bottom of the plate, topped with tomatoes & goat cheese, dukes, green olives, marinated artichoke hearts, fresh banana peppers and pita chips. Yum!

    August 2, 2013 at 9:08 am

    • I’ll be right over … veggies and hummus sounds great!

      August 2, 2013 at 10:14 am

  4. Looks wonderful! For the first time ever, I’m waiting eagerly for eggplant. Who knew?

    August 3, 2013 at 4:15 am

    • I haven’t decided what to do with mine. Suggestions?

      August 4, 2013 at 8:48 am

      • Fried eggplant is one of my favorites. Either in an eggplant parmigiana, or a fried eggplant sandwich with swiss cheese and sliced tomato…yum!

        August 6, 2013 at 8:18 am

      • I like a good sammich. This might be in order. 🙂

        August 6, 2013 at 8:31 am

  5. I’m glad you got back to the true CSA. I still miss mine.

    I had a galia melon last summer. They are super sweet, but don’t last long, so I would get to eating that one right away.

    August 4, 2013 at 11:14 am

    • Oooh … that one is already in my tummy. Blog post pending!

      August 4, 2013 at 8:53 pm

  6. Welcome back Sharlea! So wonderful to have at the party again 🙂 And what a lovely haul!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    August 7, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

