Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Grilled Artichokes

 

 

 

For most people, artichokes are a labor of love.  There is a lot of work that goes into eating one and, for me, I have no idea how to tell ahead of time whether or not it is going to be worth all of the work.   I mean, really, all I want is the heart and how do you know from the outside if an artichoke has a big, tasty heart in there?   I could get all philosophical here but, let’s just cook some veggies and move on with it, OK?

First things first, clean and clip your tasty friend.

image

 

I boiled the artichokes for about 20 minutes to soften them up a bit.   You will need to cut them in half and remove the fuzzy “choke” (the purple-ish hairs that are inedible) from the center.   Then, just put them on the grill until they have a nice char, whatever you feel like.

I prefer mine with steak.   Don’t be fooled by the veggie facade, I am a carnivore at heart.

image

 

These artichokes looked good and were a fun sport but they didn’t have much heart.   I peeled and dipped each leafy layer.   At the end, though, I was glad there was steak.

image

 

I like to buy marinated artichoke hearts for salads and other meals but I have yet to figure out a better way to pick a fresh artichoke.   Any tips or suggestions?   What’s your favorite way to prepare an artichoke?

7 responses

  1. My favorite way to prepare and artichoke is to unscrew the jar or grab a can opener, depending on the type of artichoke 😉

    However, if my CSA farm share ever grew artichokes, I’d probably steam them and wish I’d grilled them because my mushy steamed artichokes wouldn’t hold a candle to your grilled ones. Yum!

    May 8, 2013 at 5:56 pm

  2. So glad to have you back Sharlea 🙂 And with a killer recipe! Mmmmm…I LOVE grilled artichokes.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    May 14, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    • I’m doing something different this year which isn’t a CSA. Do you want me to post recipe links for stuff that would normally be out of season?

      May 15, 2013 at 9:28 am

      • post whatever you want 🙂 as long as you make it to the party I am a happy girl!

        May 15, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      • deal!

        May 16, 2013 at 8:24 am

  3. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #72 | In Her Chucks

Leave a Reply

