Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Bountiful Basket: May 4, 2013

 

 

This week was my first Bountiful Basket.   I am so completely impressed.   This is fantastic!   Easy, affordable, convenient. All of the things that I love!   AWESOME!

What’s a Bountiful Basket?   It is a food co-op.   Now, to be clear, this is very different from the fruit/veggie box that I blogged about last year.   This is not a community-supported agriculture subscription and it is not just local.   Each ‘basket’ is a share of the fruits and vegetables (or other food items) that the co-op could purchase with a group of contributions from the members.   Membership is free but you do need to sign up in advance via the website.   The Bountiful Baskets organization is a  non-profit, national organization so check their website to see if there is a location near you.

Now, here’s what I got this week for about $20:

image

 

In case you are not paying attention, there is a ton of stuff here.   I’m talking two super large heads of romaine lettuce, grapefruits, bananas, green onions, bell peppers, artichokes, cabbage, yellow squash, cantaloupes, watermelon and a pineapple.    The bulk of the fruit appears to be from Mexico.   I got the impression from the website that some of the produce was from Arizona and California as well.

 

I added on five loaves of artisan bread for $8.50:

image

 

This gigantic vat of coconut oil was $18.50.   I have seen considerably smaller containers for more at my local store.   What do you do with coconut oil?   Cook with it.   Use it for your hair.   Make sunscreen.   All kinds of great stuff.   It’s supposed to be good for you, too.   Google it.

image

 

And, I couldn’t resist some rhubarb.   This huge bag was $5.00.   Now, to decide what I’m going to do with it.    Any suggestions for something different other than pie or jelly?   I’m thinking it will go great with the pineapple or maybe, even the grapefruit.

image

 

Overall, I’m really happy with the quality of the produce and I love the ease of ordering.   The baskets are every other week and, if we are going to be out of town or something, you don’t have to participate every time.   The volunteers at the pick-up point were really friendly and there is a Facebook group for my local area where people share recipes, etc.

The only bad thing that I can think of right now is that I’m missing the “Know Your Farmer” aspect that I had last year with Lattin Farms in Fallon, NV.   But, I still love them so I know I will make a special trip to their food stand soon enough.   Bountiful Baskets won’t steal me that completely from them.

Let’s hear from you — what do you think?

4 responses

  1. Beautiful! I am in a buying club for things that we can’t get locally (which in winter, is nearly everything) and I wrote about it (and other buying clubs) here: http://artofnaturalliving.com/2012/09/04/organic-for-less-buying-clubs/ I still do my CSAs (both of them) though I may need to modify as my kids start to leave the nest…

    May 6, 2013 at 11:41 am

  2. What a haul you got! I have friends who do BB, and I like how you can get preserving quantities of some items. I liked getting a ton of canning tomatoes from our farmers last year, for a big canning session (and I’m sure our farmers liked a ready buyer for the less-than-perfect looking produce).
    What a great way to get a lot of veggies into your house each week.

    May 8, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • I know, RIGHT?! The add-ons were great. And, if you know you don’t have the time to deal with a full case of strawberries or something, you don’t have to get them. Perfect!

      May 8, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

