Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Bountiful Baskets Washoe Valley

I think I may have found a new veggie basket for this year.   Since moving to our new house, I have debated whether or not to do the CSA this year and just wanted to try something different.   Tada!   The solution fell right into my lap the other day when I discovered that there is a food co-op that does a fruit and veggie basket right in my neighborhood.   Wow!  How convenient?!

What’s this new discovery?   Well, silly me, I had heard of a program called “Bountiful Baskets” a long time ago but I don’t think there was a local spot for me at the time and … then … I forgot about it.   That simple.   It is a national organization of volunteers so check their website and see if it’s convenient for you, too.   www.bountifulbaskets.org

551414_10151584132104382_709525731_n

Their own description of how it all works looks like this:

“We hope you enjoyed your experience with Bountiful Baskets Food Co-op (BBFC). BBFC distributes produce baskets, organic produce baskets, artisan bread and sandwich bread every other week.

BBFC is a group of people who work together for mutual benefit. This is a grassroots, all volunteer, no contracts, no catch co-operative. Since there are no employees at Bountiful Baskets, we as a group pay rock bottom prices on your food. This also means the co-op would not happen without volunteers. If you are interested in the co-op continuing, please volunteer occasionally. All it takes is a little time, energy and a smile. Volunteer opportunities include helping prepare the baskets, breaking down boxes, assisting with the distribution, and packing up. To help out, simply arrive an hour early dressed and ready to work with water to drink.

See you at Co-op!
Sally & Tanya and The Whole Bountiful Baskets Team

The deal is that you go to their website every other week to opt-in and then volunteer every so often to help out with the distribution.   OK.   I can handle that.

This week’s offering included extra add-ons like two different bread packages, coconut oil (1/2 gallon expeller pressed in a glass jar for $18.50), granola, a guacamole kit, 8 lb flat of strawberries, 4 lbs rhubarb or a 40 lb bag of valencia oranges.   I opted to try the bread, coconut oil and rhubarb.

Keep your fingers crossed, Fresh Veggers.   I hope this is as cool as I think it’s going to be!   I’ll post an update this weekend.  Pickup is on Saturday!

Has anyone else out there tried Bountiful Baskets?   Leave a comment, please.  I would love to hear about your experience.

P.S.  I’m waiting to see how this first week goes before I figure out the volunteering portion of the deal.

4 responses

  1. It sounds terrific! Hope it works for you.

    April 30, 2013 at 2:04 am

  2. My friends who have done BB sure like the putting up amounts you can add on.
    I’m so looking forward to my CSA–starts up in 2 weeks!

    May 1, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

