Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

2013 CSA Prices

001

I’m super excited for CSA season to start back up here in Northern Nevada.   The prices and season options for my CSA, Great Basin Basket CSA, are now available and I thought I would put them out to the blogosphere for some feedback.  The dollar amount of the box is about the same as last year but the seasons have been shortened by several weeks in the beginning and at the end.   Also, the prices do not include a fruit subscription.   The fruit subscription will be separate and has not been priced as of yet.

What do you think?   If you are a subscriber somewhere else, how do these prices compare to yours?

Here’s the details:

BASKET OPTIONS
Spring 8/4 weeks (May 7-June 27)  Weekly- $216  Bi-weekly- $120
Summer 12/6 weeks (July 9-Sept 26)  Weekly- $348  Bi-weekly- $192
Autumn 6/3 weeks (Oct 1-Nov 7)  Weekly- $162  Bi-weekly- $90
All three seasons! 26 weeks  Weekly- $726  Bi-weekly- $402
Basket shares feed 3-4. Bi-weekly shares are delivered as follows: Last name begins with A-K: delivery begins on
first & odd weeks. Last name begins with L-Z: delivery begins on second and even weeks. No exceptions, please.
Bi-weekly memberships will be notified of your delivery dates.

Weekly subscription prices: Spring-$27 per week; Summer-$29 per week; Autumn-$27 per week. Bi-weekly subscriptions have an additional $3 per week surcharge.
PAYMENT OPTIONS
 Payment plan option: Send $50 deposit to reserve your seasons, and the balance for each season will be due
one week before the season begins.* Final payment for Spring is due April 30; Summer is due July 2; Autumn is
due Sept. 24. The deposit is applied to your subscription.

EARLY PAYMENT BONUSES FOR 2013 SEASON
 Subscribe and pay for Three seasons of Weekly share ($726) by March 31, and receive $50 in GBC Market Dollars*.
 Subscribe and pay for Two seasons of Weekly share by March 31, and receive $20 in GBC Market Dollars*.
 Subscribe and pay for Three seasons of Bi-weekly share by March 31 ($402), and receive $20 in GBC Market Dollars.
*GBC Market Dollars: These bonus dollars can be used to purchase produce and value-added products from selected Great Basin Basket farmers at local farmers markets and farm stands.

2012-09-27_18-00-27_75

To be fair, I loved my CSA subscription last year and have nothing but wonderful things to say about it.   But, I do have to admit the price is a little spendy and I’m not sure if I want to do it again this year.    Give me some feedback!   I’m waffling on the veggies here!

9 responses

  1. Have you looked at other CSAs in your area? That might help for comparison. Ours is $565 for 21 weeks–includes strawberries, apples, melons, but less fruit than in warmer climates…

    March 27, 2013 at 4:45 am

    • I am shopping around but this is the main one for my area. I am considering just going to the food coop every week for what’s fresh. They have grown quite a bit and have a very nice store. Then, I can just buy what we will use and also have some other options for meats and bread.

      March 27, 2013 at 5:37 am

  2. Here in Ohio we’ll be paying $25/week for 20 weeks starting in Mid-May (large share $500). Back in Virginia, DC area, I’d be paying between $610/15 weeks to $1295/20 weeks (prices from the 2 CSAs we enjoyed back there). These include some fruit, but not a separate fruit share–that’s $105 for mid-July through October at the priciest CSA, and boy howdy are those Shenandoah apples worth it.

    March 27, 2013 at 10:36 am

    • Good to know. I loved what I received last year and have no doubt in the value … but … I dunno. 🙂

      March 27, 2013 at 10:52 am

  3. It is pricey especially when you’re forking out for several weeks. One month, I did it weekly and then only supplemented with what I could buy through the SNAP program. I learned so much and really resolved that CSA is worth it.

    March 27, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    • I do think it is worth it — for sure. But, I am thinking about going to the coop this year.

      March 28, 2013 at 7:36 am

  4. My CSA was $500 for the Summer season and for the Winter season. Summer was 28 weeks and worked out to about $18/week. Winter has had less frequent pickups 12-13 by the time we are done at the end of this month. It included both vegetables and some fruit, with the mandatory gourds. 🙂

    I’ve talked to several people who dropped out of the CSA because it was too hard to keep up with both the quantity and the variety of unknown produce. They told themselves they would go to the farmers market and get produce they would use, but they never did.

    I like how the CSA forces me to keep my promise to myself to eat more produce.

    April 11, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    • … you have my dilemma all figured out … I keep telling myself that I can go to the farmers market that will be right by my office but I kinda know better. I did like the boxes last year because I was on the hook to use it all and I hate to let it go to waste. 🙂

      April 12, 2013 at 9:33 am

  5. I realized that could be unclear, I paid $500 for Summer, and another $500 for Winter.

    April 11, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

