Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Chicken Wing Showdown Chowdown

 

 

I have been wanting to try a recipe that I saw on another blog for a very long time.   A special chicken wing recipe that, in my opinion, deserved a special day.   I gave those chicken wings:   Super Bowl Sunday, the true religious holiday of all chicken wings.   Here’s to Peppermeister’s Sweet and Spicy Asian Wings with Crema de Peppermeister!

I actually followed the recipe as close as I could.   If you’ve been reading me for very long, you understand what a challenge this can be for me.    Click on the links above for the full list of ingredients, it’s not a tough recipe to follow but the processing can be a little time consuming.  Was it worth it?   Ooooh … yaaaa …

image

 

The sauce for these wings was a little bit tedious to make  (chop, chop, blend, blend) and VERY GREEN.  It made for a cool macro photo, though.

image

 

I do have to say that it looked pretty gross.   But, the smell of the spices and peppers was fantastic even when it was all still raw.   The house smelled incredible while these were cooking in the oven.   INCREDIBLE.

image

 

I am so glad that I lined the pan with foil before baking these bad boys.   What a mess!

image

 

These are the fixin’s for the Crema de Peppermeister.   I actually doubled the recipe because I wanted extra for salad dressings or something else later in the week.    Yum.

image

image

 

The Peppermeister wings were awesome and a great food experiment for me.   I’m glad I made them.   But, I do have to admit that they did not steal my heart away from my one true chicken wing love.    I’m still loyal to the traditional, buffalo-hot style.    And, I have the heart burn to prove it.

image

9 responses

  1. How could I not LOVE this post?? Thank you for featuring my recipes(s) on your blog!
    I actually made these wings for the Superbowl this year as well. I grill mine. This time, I finally remembered to reserve some marinade for a glaze. I mixed it with some more sriracha, honey, and hot chinese mustard. I brushed it on the wings as they were crisping up on the grill…..super tasty.
    I’m glad you liked them. Great idea with the foil. When I bake them, I line a cookie sheet with foil and then I place the wings on a cooling rack that sits on the pan for much crispier results. I too, am a fundamentalist about wings. Nothing can ever really surpass the original (Frank’s Red Hot style).

    February 5, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    • I like the sriracha/honey/chinese mustard idea. That just sounds good for dipping anything. 🙂 I think I will grill these next time for a crispier texture. Frank’s Red Hot rules. It’s just too easy.

      February 5, 2013 at 2:10 pm

  2. Reblogged this on PEPPERMEISTER! and commented:
    Check out Fresh Veggies in the Desert. Sharlea makes Peppermeister’s Sweet and Spicy Asian Wings!!!

    February 5, 2013 at 1:57 pm

  3. I’d be willing to close my eyes for a good green sauce 😉

    February 7, 2013 at 11:35 am

    • It was really good — I can’t describe enough about how great the house smelled while it was cooking!

      February 7, 2013 at 12:03 pm

  4. I LOVE chicken wings!
    Great , no, MAGNIFICENT post!

    February 9, 2013 at 9:54 am

  5. Here is where I make you jealous . . . Jules gifted me with some of the original Peppermeister’s peppers this past weekend. Granted, they were dried, but still. I haven’t figured out what I’m going to do with them yet . . . stay tuned. 🙂

    February 26, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    • Oh, ya? Well, Peppermeister himself sent me mine. Nanner nanner! Of course, I have never had brunch with either so you still win.

      February 27, 2013 at 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

