Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Banh Mi Inspired Lettuce Wraps and A Cooper’s Hawk

It’s slim pickens here in the high desert for CSA veggies so today’s recipe was purchased entirely at the regular grocery store.   It was quite tasty.   Don’t judge.

Last summer, I had a Vietnamese-style banh mi sandwich from a food truck.   The light vinaigrette with the sweet crunch of veggies inside of a sourdough baguette and then, the after-kapow of a little bit of hot serrano peppers was enough bliss in one bite to create an immediate addiction.   I was hooked.   Yum.

Today, I was craving some banh mi, dammit.   And, here’s what I came up with …

banh mi lettuce wrap

My not-so-original recipe ideas came from searching the internet, HERE.   Being a total non-conformist, I made one up and it came out pretty darn good.   Especially, when you consider that I didn’t have a sourdough baguette in the house and got a little crafty with the lettuce wrap idea.   (Watch out, P.F. Chang’s, I’m gunning for ya!)

Now, don’t kid yourself.   Cutting up a bunch of veggies into cute little pieces is a pain in the ass.   I have a kitchen mandolin but I am slightly afraid of it.   I will thin slice a few things on it but the whole ‘julienne’ idea seemed pretty dangerous to me today.   This kind of cutting requires more patience that I generally have.   I did get lazy toward the end and just chopped up the cucumbers.   Shoot me.

Cucumber, carrots, radishes, red bell pepper, serrano peppers and cilantro

Cucumber, carrots, radishes, red bell pepper, serrano peppers and cilantro

Indoor chicken grillin' with the grill pan

Indoor chicken grillin’ with the grill pan

Basically, I marinated the veggies in some ginger-soy salad dressing with a little bit of extra rice wine vinegar and then added some grilled chicken.   We had some baby romaine lettuce heads and just peeled leaves off to wrap up the mixture.   Lettuce burritos!

Dinner must have smelled good because we were visited by a Cooper’s Hawk.    He literally flew into our front window and freaked the F@#K out of us.   Excuse the crappy picture quality … I wasn’t prepared.   This was an impressive dinner guest.

What the Cooper's Hawk?

What the Cooper’s Hawk?

Based on the stare he is giving us, I think we should just give him our plates.    YIPES!

 

9 responses

  1. I don’t know what I’m more envious of, your dinner or your dinner guest.

    What’s up with our need to defend our food choices? I just wrote up a “confession” that I buy bananas because they don’t come in my farm share. My Ohio farm share. Bananas.

    I buy avocados, too, and I’m delighted to shout it to the rooftops.

    But not too loud, I don’t want a Cooper’s Hawk to come and stare at me . . .

    January 28, 2013 at 9:45 am

    • I know, RIGHT??! It’s just like the ‘ooooh … you didn’t bring your own bags’ guilt when you go to Whole Foods. That place is pretty overpriced. I earned a paper bag with my purchase.

      January 28, 2013 at 9:49 am

  2. Hi! Thank you for visiting my blog, and for the “like”. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Drop by any time 🙂
    Not a foodie, but love the photos on your blog – so clear and crisp and colourful!

    January 29, 2013 at 6:21 pm

  3. Hi Ginger, I really enjoyed this post on Bahn Mi and wondered if you were interested in submitting this post to a new event called Our Growing Edge. The event aims to compile a monthly snapshot as to what bloggers are doing in terms of new challenges with food. This monthly event aims to connect and inspire us to try new things.

    A growing edge is the part of us that is still learning and experimenting. It’s the part that you regularly grow and improve, be it from real passion or a conscious effort. 

    I hope you can make it.

    More info can be found here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge
    or here:
    http://www.inlinkz.com/wpview.php?id=233654

    February 3, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    • Sure! I read your post and wasn’t sure if this fit the bill. I’ll be right over!

      February 3, 2013 at 9:10 pm

  4. Hey if you take that whole lettuce wrap and wrap some softened rice paper (banh trang) around it, you’ll end up with another Vietnamese dish – goi cuon (spring rolls)! I like to think of them as a lighter, healthier little sister of banh mi. :3 Beautiful pics!

    February 11, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Leave a Reply

