Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Recipe Redux Reblog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a reblog of my post from last October, “High on PCP.”    Pecan Chocolate Pumpkin Bread.

Today I busted out some frozen pumpkin puree and made them again … and added coconut.   I am a genius.   You should just drive by my house, roll down the windows and smell the heavenly aroma that is blasting the universe.   Awesome sauce.   Nom, nom, nom.

Pecan. Chocolate. Pumpkin. Bread.

Once again, I wish for smell-o-vision because even my best photograph will not do this baked lovely justice.   Imagine the best smelling pumpkin pie combined with a homemade bread and sprinkle chocolate on it.   My house smells like that.   Honest.

I used a basic pumpkin bread recipe and adapted it.    The original is HERE.   My modifications were to double the recipe to make two loaves, add a generous amount of chocolate chips, about a tablespoon of vanilla extract and substitute pecans for walnuts — because that’s what was in my cabinet.   For me, that’s almost going straight from a recipe.   I just like to make things my own.

Oooooh … it was so good.

You want to make this.   I am so proud of it that I took a picture of the loaves upside down just to show off that I didn’t burn the bottom.   It’s that kind of kitchen success, people.

Did I mention that I used the pumpkin puree that I saved in the refrigerator from last week’s CSA box?   Yup.   Now, I did.   Bomb-diggity.

3 responses

  1. Smell-o-vision LOL. Yah, come on wordPress, get on that please. LOVE pumpkin so I’ll give it a whirl! My husband is the chocolate fan, so I’ll indulge him. Pinning.

    January 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm

  2. Wow, pumpkin AND chocolate!

    January 26, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

