Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Baked Apple Quinoa

Something healthy for a change …

This may seem obvious but I had forgotten about all of the stuff that I froze for later from the CSA boxes like apples, peaches, etc and that those count toward my whole year long experience.   It’s a no-brainer but I had just not thought about how I was going to use them all so I didn’t even remember to blog about it until now.   And, after all of the sweets and cookies of Christmas, I am not even close to being interested in an apple pie.   So, I googled up some apple breakfast bake ideas and found this:

Apples and Cinnamon Breakfast Quinoa, from www.Skinnytaste.com

Servings: 4 • Serving Size: 1 bowl (1/4 of recipe) Calories: 316 • Fat: 8 g • Carbs: 53 g • Fiber: 6 g • Protein: 9 g • Sugar: 20 g Sodium: 35 mg Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed well
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon + more for sprinkling
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1 cup warmed fat-free milk for drizzling (non-dairy milk is fine)
  • 1 gala apple, peeled and diced
  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped

Directions:
Combine quinoa, water, cinnamon and vanilla in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and let cook for 15 minutes until quinoa can be fluffed with a fork.   Add apples and other ingredients, bake at 350 for approximately 30 minutes.

I bought some quinoa months ago and always felt weird about cooking because I’m not even sure how to pronounce it properly.   I think the official hipster pronounciation is “keen-wah” but … what the heck do I know?   It’s supposed to be good for you so I thought I would try it.

Of course, I made some modifications to the cooking process.   I added a ton more cinnamon than the recipe called for and, thankfully, a ton more apples and a healthy sprinkle of those walnuts that I candied a while back.   (You’ll see why later.)   Here’s some photos for those of you that don’t like reading:

apple quinoa

I thought about putting some of that salted caramel apple butter in it but then decided not to … I would regret this choice later.

apple cook

This photo is a too dark but I just wanted to show you what the whole mess looked like in the baking pan.

qpples done

Here’s a better, slightly more edible-looking, view.

Final results?   Bleck.   Clearly, “keen-wah” translates to “tastes like dirt” in some healthy-hippie language.   I rinsed the quinoa as instructed but it really did taste bad.   I think adding the apple butter would have sweetened the mixture but I’m not sure that it would have saved the batch.   I mostly picked the apples and walnuts out and ate them to just not waste the big pan of crap that I made.   Yuck.

Any one successful with a quinoa adventure out there with some “make it taste better” advice?    It was dirt poop.   Gross.

 

 

4 responses

  1. ooh. I would not bake quinoa. I think that might contribute to the dry “tastes like dirt” result. blech.Did you like the taste before you baked it? did you like it at that point at all? I’ve been making quite a few quinoa porridges for breakfast. I like it because it does not get all wet and sticky like oatmeal. I cook the quinoa with a bit of butter and fruit (apples or pears). When it is ready I stir in the sweetener (honey or maple syrup) and spices (usually cinnamon). It definitely needs a sweetener as you suspected. Here is a link to some of the quinoa I’ve made: http://thehealthyproject.wordpress.com/tag/quinoa/

    Cooked quinoa is also good in salads- where the texture adds a nice pop and the quinoa sucks up flavors from the dressings.
    Good luck. this reminds me of cooking with tofu for the first time haha.

    January 16, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Good points. I liked the texture but I do think I prefer oatmeal. I was going to try it as a dinner side dish thing instead of rice. I love salads so that might work out pretty good. Kinda like couscous?

      January 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

  2. How funny! I recently tried quinoa for breakfast and honestly just found it weird! Mine didn’t taste of dirt but it took some getting used to, not wanting to waste it (Id made a big batch) I had it for breakfast for 3 days, I added homemade applesauce which made it slightly better but I think I’m more of an oatmeal gal. I do like quinoa when savory though.

    January 27, 2013 at 2:08 am

Leave a Reply

