Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Peppers

Hello, bloggy friends.   Fresh Veggies is still out here … I’m just not doing much blogging these days.    Clearly, we are still eating so I thought I better share some posts before you decide that I have withered away during the winter.    As you will see, there is no chance of withering in my neck of the woods.   But, we have been busy with other non-fresh veggie adventures.

peppers cooked

What’s on the menu for today?   Buffalo chicken stuffed peppers.  It’s just something that I threw together but it was pretty darn tasty so I decided the masses needed to read all about it — and see some photos.

peppers

I started with some anaheim chiles.   They just looked good at the store.   They are not organic and, frankly, I’m not even 100% sure they are anaheims.   Honestly, I bought them on impulse and didn’t know what I was going to cook with them at the time.   Then, GENIUS struck and I had all of the right ingredients at home.  BOOM!

Here’s what I threw together:

peppers stuff

I don’t really recommend this pre-mix rice thing but my hubby bought it a while back.   We love buffalo wings and he is guilty of trying just about anything that is buffalo-flavored.   I do not recommend the Buffalo Chicken Wing Sauce-flavored Pringles.   OMG-those were horrible.   Bleck.

I just cooked the rice as directed, added some cooked/chopped chicken breast.   Then, sprinkled bleu cheese on top and baked in the oven at about 350 for 30 minutes or so.   Of course, I cleaned and cut the peppers in half but they still had some zing.  The peppers could have cooked a little longer but I liked the snap and taste that was still in them.   That’s up to you.   I really like peppers.

I would recommend adding just a little bit of finely chopped celery to the mix.   But, at the time, we didn’t have any in the fridge.

Have you ever made any Buffalo Chicken Wing-inspired dishes?   I would love to hear about them.   I am certain my hubs would appreciate a new recipe or two as well!

 

4 responses

  1. How timely–we just had Butterball Deep Fried Buffalo Style chicken lunchmeat on our lunchtime sandwiches.

    I think I would have preferred to eat these peppers–they look delicious. I never stuff peppers, but between this and a broiled “egg in a pepper” and make it a sandwich (I think from writes for food blog but I’m not sure) I may start stuffing.

    Thanks!

    January 13, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  2. These look great! Kind of like a big buffalo chicken jalepeno popper. I bet this would be good on the grill, too – a nice char on the peppers…yum!

    January 21, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

