Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Popcorn on the Cob

I love popcorn.   And, until now, I had not ever tried popcorn on the cob.    I actually didn’t think about where real popcorn came from until now.   Of course, I knew it was corn.   And, I remember the days of Jiffy Pop on the stove or your mom stirring a pot with oil on a burner.   I even still have an air popper that rarely gets used.    I know that there was life before microwave popcorn.   I just had not ever tried it.

These beauties came in the last CSA box and I have been waiting for a good movie night with my dudes to use them.

To be honest, I was silly giddy to try this and dudes could have cared less.    My little guy even said, “Ya, Mom, just make popcorn.”    Thanks.   I feel appreciated.    So, here it is, Popcorn on the Cob:

wpid-2012-11-30_18-27-38_544.jpg

And, what do you do with it?   Sadly, I had to Google this for instructions.    Put it in a brown bag and microwave it until it pops.   (duh)    The suggestion was for three minutes.   I ended up going for two separate sessions to get it to pop.    I don’t think there is a set rule here.

 

image

I was super excited because it was popping like crazy and I thought it was going to be so awesome right on the cob.    I was wrong.   It burnt and didn’t pop all the way.   The picture almost makes it look cool but really it wasn’t that big of a deal.   I was disappointed.

image

Good thing we always have ‘old faithful’ at our house.    I popped some Orville and just mixed it all together.   The dudes didn’t even notice.   Or, they didn’t bother to say anything if they did.

image

At least the movie was good.    Oh, and if you notice, we had cookies and hot chocolate, too!

wpid-2012-11-30_18-50-38_986.jpg

14 responses

  1. I am soooo jealous of the Polar Express! My mom has our copy. I’m outta luck this year! I saw the blog post linked on Pinterest sometime earlier this year about putting regular popping corn in a paper bag because of all the chemicals in microwave popcorn butter. I tried it. It burned. We do ours on the stove with sunflower oil. It makes a terrific racket that the boys really dig. Sorry the popcorn on the cob didn’t work out the way you planned!

    December 2, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  2. That picture DOES make it look cool! Too bad it didn’t work the way it was supposed to 😦

    December 3, 2012 at 2:18 am

  3. Bummer! I’m sorry reality crashed and burned–but hey you had cocoa and cookies, so all was not lost.
    I have never had popcorn on the cob to try and pop, but before I had kids in braces (popcorn is a braces no-no) I did it on the stove top in my special popcorn pot.

    I miss real popcorn.

    December 3, 2012 at 3:43 am

    • I miss real popcorn, too. And, as an adult who had braces, I don’t eat it that much anymore. Those kernel shells just get stuck everywhere!

      December 3, 2012 at 5:45 am

  4. We got popcorn on the cob, but I haven’t tried it yet. My farmer said to let it sit for a month before popping. I am almost ready to try it. I wonder if it would work better if you take to kernels off the cob?

    December 9, 2012 at 11:21 am

  5. Well it looks like a good idea. I have given up the microwave entirely and pop in a pan the old fashioned way now…

    December 10, 2012 at 6:24 am

  6. So envious! You can’t get popcorn on the cob here in Oz but I LOVE popcorn. I love it so much I named my dog after it! I *so* get your excitement, and I would have been bummed too that it didn’t turn out the way you hoped.

    December 11, 2012 at 2:12 am

  7. The picture does make it look really cool!

    December 11, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

