Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Sunchokes (Jerusalem Artichokes)

I have to admit that when these gems arrived in the veggie box, I thought they were something else.   I was at first excited because I had been given the world’s largest CSA share of ginger.   Then, I realized there is now way any farmer in their right mind (at least not in Northern Nevada) would be just handing out pounds of ginger for the taking.  I did not get a bag of ginger.

So, I had to ask the CSA volunteer for help.   It sounded something like “What the HECK are these??!”     She held back the laughter and explained that they are a potato-like tuber that taste a little bit like an artichoke heart.   She was nice about it but I did feel a little dumb for thinking it was ginger.

Well, silly me.   How was I supposed to know?    Anyway, I took the sunchokes home and have waited this long to figure out what to do with them.    After Googling and recipe hunting for something special, I went with the most common recommendation, just roast them with a little bit of olive oil, salt and pepper at 375 for about 40 minutes.

On the inside, they look just like a potato.

image

On the outside, they are kind of ugly.

image

As for flavor, I don’t think they are really that much like an artichoke but I can see why people have explained them that way.   The flavor isn’t 100% potato and the outside skin has a little bit of a snappy texture.   Final review:   very good for something different.   But, I wouldn’t go out of my way or pay too much for them.   A potato is a lot simpler and cheaper.

2 responses

  1. How fun! I love discovering a new fruit or veggie!

    December 2, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

