Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Cranberry-Maple-Cinnamon Walnuts

Remember that crazy huge sack of walnuts that I was crack-a-lacking on last week?    Well, I finally did something with them.   I covered them in a cinnamony-maple glaze.   If you are lucky, you will get a lovely little Christmas-decorated baggie of these:

Once again, I wish for smell-o-vision on the blog.   I’m not the biggest fan of walnuts but these were so good straight out of the oven.   The house smelled like maple-cinnamon Christmas.    And, yes, I ate walnuts for lunch.   It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Adapted from this recipe on http://www.marthastewart.com:

Ingredients

  •                                         1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  •                                         1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  •                                         2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  •                                         1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  •                                         Coarse salt
  •                                         2 cups walnuts (6 ounces)
  •                                         See modifications regarding cinnamon and cranberry

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat. Stir in maple syrup, vanilla, cinnamon, and  3/4 teaspoon salt. Bring to a simmer (mixture should be frothy), about 3 minutes. Add walnuts, and toss to coat using a rubber spatula. Cook, stirring, until sauce is syrupy and bubbly, about 3 minutes.
  2.  Transfer walnut mixture to a parchment-lined baking sheet, and spread into a single layer. Bake until walnuts are caramelized, about 10 minutes. Transfer sheet to a wire rack. Stir, and let stand until cool and hardened, about 30 minutes.

My modifications:

I had cooked down some cranberries for something else so I strained the juice for this syrup mixture.   I also added an obscene amount of cinnamon.   It was not measured.   I had a bottle with about an inch of cinnamon left.   I just dumped the whole thing in there because I was making this recipe for about 10 cups of walnuts.    That ended up being about five cookie sheets worth of nuts.

15 responses

  1. sahmilf

    This sounds incredible!!!

    November 27, 2012 at 12:53 pm

  2. dustyharms

    Those look tasty! I may have to try with Almonds though! (nut allergy!)

    November 27, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    • I actually like almonds better — but, these walnuts were FREE! 🙂

      November 27, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      • dustyharms

        Certainly you can’t beat free! 🙂

        November 27, 2012 at 1:54 pm

  3. Seems delicious!

    November 28, 2012 at 1:05 am

    • These are the best. The syrup carmelized a little bit … picking them off the cookie sheet warm was a treat.

      November 28, 2012 at 8:48 am

      • Completely convinced now, will try this soon : )

        November 28, 2012 at 8:49 am

  4. Love glazed nuts. Have always wanted to try making them–perhaps this will be the year!

    November 28, 2012 at 6:06 am

  5. These sound delicious, and I would pop them into a salad with goat cheese and dried cherries and final bag of salad greens from the farm share if you brought them in the door right now.

    I’m waiting . . . . .

    November 29, 2012 at 12:30 pm

  6. Photo has persuaded me. Thanks for sharing!

    November 29, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    • I am more of a photographer than a writer. Please check out my other site, gingerleaphotography.com 🙂

      November 29, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  7. What a great idea! I am definitely trying it once I get my walnuts. 🙂 Thank you.

    December 2, 2012 at 7:22 am

Leave a Reply

