Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Eight–The Season Finale

Can you believe we started this adventure in April and the 2012 season is already done?    Time flies when you are having fun!

The last veggie box is here and I am ready for Thanksgiving.   And, I am thankful for this year’s CSA.   I had no idea what it would be like and I have enjoyed every bit.   I am especially thankful for the awesome little farm that makes this happen, Lattin Farms.   They rule!   I added some links below to the other farms on the veggie list.  Please take the time to give them a click.  Fallon and Yerington, Nevada, don’t look like much on the map but the farms out there seriously know what they are doing.

So, what’s in the veggie box?

  • Butternut Squash
  • Speckled Hound Squash
  • Bull’s Blood Beet Greens
  • Spinach
  • Tango Lettuce
  • Gourmet Lettuce
  • Shallots
  • Garlic
  • Popcorn on the Cob
  • Ornamental Gourds
  • Sunchokes from Mewaldt Organics
  • Onions from Peri & Sons
  • Potatoes from Carroll Farms

HOLY, ORVILLE REDENBACHER!   We have real popcorn!   This going to be so much fun for movie night!   (I have tried 10,000 ways to rotate this photo and failed.  Then, I decided it was just as cute sideways.   Oh, well.  We are silly that way.)

And, what would the veggie box be without a mystery vegetable??   This final box did not disappoint.  At first, I thought these mysterous tubers were part of a seriously generous bag of fresh ginger.   But, whoa, that would be A LOT of ginger!   I was quickly informed that these are sunchokes or Jerusalem artichokes.   I will be Googling ideas for what to do with them.   Any suggestions?

I don’t always point it out on the veggie list but almost everything is completely organic, especially the Lattin Farms produce.   That’s a big deal.   The official certification process to call your food “organic” is pretty complicated and Lattin Farms is the real thing.   Here’s some more info and a link if you would like to check it out:

“What is organic food? Organic food is produced by farmers who emphasize the use of renewable resources and the conservation of soil and water to enhance environmental quality for future generations.  Organic meat, poultry, eggs, and dairy products come from animals that are given no antibiotics or growth hormones.  Organic food is produced without using most conventional pesticides; fertilizers made with synthetic ingredients or sewage sludge; bioengineering; or ionizing radiation.  Before a product can be labeled ‘organic,’ a Government-approved certifier inspects the farm where the food is grown to make sure the farmer is following all the rules necessary to meet USDA organic standards.  Companies that handle or process organic food before it gets to your local supermarket or restaurant must be certified, too.”

Consumer Brochure, USDA National Organic Program, http://www.ams.usda.gov/nop/Consumers/brochure.html

The best resource for Nevada grown produce and everything related is:   http://nevadagrown.com/    They have some links on the site for other states but this has quickly become my go-to spot for local goodies.   I hope you can find one like it for where you live.

After all of the Thanksgiving festivities, I will post the season highlights/lowlights with cost information for the CSA.   I have enjoyed this experience and it has made me interested in being a better localvore.    I think there are some good resources in the Reno area to make this happen so … stay tuned.   I’ll still be posting my adventures throughout the winter.   Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

2 responses

  1. I’m sad to see the CSA season come to an end as well. However, in addition to the pile of squash hiding in the chilly corner of my breakfast nook, I’ve put up so much that I’ll be feeding my family from the farm share up until the time it resumes in May. Hooray! I look forward to continuing to hear of your adventures! Just wish I had a hound dog squash. Such a fun name!

    November 25, 2012 at 4:06 am

    • That speckled hound squash was bright orange and almost smelled like cantalope when I cut it open. The seeds were HUGE so I roasted them … but … the shell was super hard so they weren’t that good. I think I might make some pumpkin rolls for gifts with it. (Don’t worry, I’ll post all about it later.) 🙂

      November 25, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

