Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Walnuts and Wild Horses

Yesterday was a rainy day here on the Comstock.   It is actually pretty rare when it drizzles in the desert all day.   So, I did some house chores and burrowed inside all day long cracking walnuts from that HUGE bag that my friend gave me.   Yup.   Just nut crackin’, pretty much all day.    I have officially gone nuts.   (Insert a billion more sophomoric nut references here.)

I just set up nut camp in the dining room and watched it rain all day.   One of the best things about where I live is that I am kind of out in the boonies and we have wild horses that just roam free.   Seriously.   Wild horses just wander the neighborhood at will.    And, I’m only about 20 minutes from civilization so it’s not like I’m totally out in the wilderness or anything.   I live in a regular neighborhood, kinda.  How about some pictures?

It was just a grey day but the pinion pines need the water. I was really wishing for snow.

I think the walnuts were multiplying when I wasn’t looking.

I used some serious hardware to crack the walnuts and did my work in a brown bag to keep the walnut shrapnel from flying all over the house.  I decided to even keep the shells because the oil in them makes for pretty good kindling in the wood stove.

My bounty for the day. I only made it through half the bag. My hands are sore–that’s pitiful.

What am I going to do with all of my hard-earned walnuts?   I am making a cinnamon maple candy over the walnuts and going wrap them up as Christmas goodies.   And, I will absolutely be freezing some for later.   Want the recipe?

Ingredients

    • 1 lb walnut halves
    • 1 cup white sugar
    • Drizzle of maple syrup
    • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 6 tablespoons milk
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spread nuts in a single layer over a baking sheet and roast for about 8-10 minutes.
  2. Stir together sugar, syrup, cinnamon, salt and milk in a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat for about 8 minutes or until the mixture reaches the soft ball stage of 236°F Remove from heat and add vanilla.
  3. Add walnuts to sugar syrup and stir to coat well. Spoon nuts onto waxed paper lined sheet pan and separate with fork.
  4. Cool and store in an airtight container.
2 responses

  1. Mmmm, love walnuts. What a nice gift!

    November 21, 2012 at 5:53 am

Leave a Reply

