Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Seven, and “Hey, Look at My Nut Sack!”

image

Squash season continues!  This box has some delightful fall goodies in it.    What did I get this week?

  • Speckled hound squash (that’s the pumpkin-looking thing … that I have no clue what to do with, by the way)
  • Butternut Squash
  • Carrots
  • Tango Lettuce (my hubs favorite)
  • Shallots
  • Thyme
  • Onion
  • Potatoes
  • Dried flowers from the fabulous Debbie Colbentz (she did the pepper ristras last week, too)

image

The dried flowers were perfectly cute and just the right thing for this box of CSA-happiness.   I hung them in my kitchen right next to the peppers.   Thanks, Debbie.   This made me smile.

image

There’s only one more week of veggie boxes, people.    What am I going to do after this is all over for the year?   I imagine there will be a long list of things that I am thankful for with the holiday next week.   I am definitely thankful that I tried this whole CSA thing.   The organic farms in my area are the best!

OH — bonus, this week!    Check out my nuts:

image

This bag of walnuts is not from my CSA but, even better, these walnuts are from a friend.   My husband brought them home last night and I thought would share it with the blog-o-sphere.   (hahaha … omgawd … I just realized that I am posting a picture of my husband’s nuts on the internet!   He will be so proud.)

OK, juvenile humor aside, does anyone have any ideas for what I should do with these nuts?   Any walnut fans out there?

7 responses

  1. I’m laughing because it seems like every CSA-related blog I read has become at 13 yr old boy this week.

    I’m envious of your nuts, and would be making crusts, and shelling and freezing tons of them. Or having my minions do the shelling.

    And then I want to tell you that it doesn’t have to be over for the year–you can put up your CSA stuff during the season so you can eat it year ’round! For example, roast and freeze that “hound” (I loved typing that BTW) and use the puree for a winter batch of muffins, or pasta sauce, or pie. Roast the garlic and freeze individual cloves so you can toss one into well, darn near everything.
    I could go on. And will, someday!

    November 16, 2012 at 10:39 am

    • Hee hee. I have been storing some hound dog gems for whatever post I cook up on that squash. And, I have some reserves for the CSA year-round. I was also thinking about doing some ‘localvore’ stuff. We have a pretty nice co-op downtown. I imagine they will have some tasty treats that I can share.

      November 16, 2012 at 11:39 am

  2. Love the speckled hound squash – what a great name! I only have one more CSA pickup for the year, too, and I’m going to miss it! Fortunately, there’s a winter farmer’s market nearby so I can still get some local stuff yearround, but it won’t be the same.

    And the nuts are lovely! (And funny – I laughed out loud at this post.) My grandfather used to always have a big dish of walnuts in their living room. It was a special treat to sit with him and crack the fresh walnuts -so tasty and such a great memory! Thank you!

    November 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

  3. A friend of mine has an English Walnut tree, and she has kept me well supplied for years. I crack the nuts while watching football in the Fall and freeze them to use as needed throughout the year.

    Right now, I am using them in nutty pie crusts. But I love nuts in salads, on pizza, just snacking, cookies…

    November 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • I spent the greater part of today working my way through that bag. It is huge. Thanks for the ideas! I will definitely freeze a bag or two!

      November 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm

  4. Reblogged this on Krafty Travel Life and commented:
    Great blog!

    November 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

