Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Autumn Squash Pie

It looks a lot like a pumpkin pie but it’s not.    Remember all of that squash that I baked up the other day?   Well, I decided that I just didn’t want to make soup out of it just yet so I opted for pie.    Pie sounds better than soup, doesn’t it?

There are about a million pie recipes on the internet so I started with this generic one from http://www.southernfood.about.com and made it my own.

Ingredients:

  • 1 unbaked and chilled 9-inch pie shell
  • 1 large butternut squash (or similar variety), cooked and pureed, about 1 1/2 cups
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk or half/half
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

To cook the squash:

Cut the squash in half lengthwise; remove stem and scoop out seeds.   Place the squash, cut side down, on a foil-lined and oiled baking pan; bake at 400 for about an hour.  Let cool completely and scoop out squash.   Mash or blend with hand mixer.

For the pie mix:

In a mixing bowl, blend the squash with brown sugar.  Add eggs, milk, spices, flour and vanilla.  Beat until well-blended.   Pour the filling into the chilled pie crust and bake  on the center oven rack at 350 for about an hour.   Check pie at about 35 minutes and use foil or edge protectors to keep crusts from getting too dark.   When the filling is set, transfer the pie to a rack to cool.  Serve warm or at room temperature with a dollop of whipped cream.

My modifications:

I bought pre-made pie crusts so there were two and I had a ton of puree.   So, I doubled the recipe for two pies.   I like a lot of cinnamon so I added more than the recipe calls for … same with the vanilla.   Then, I cut back on the eggs and added a nice scoop of ricotta cheese.   I don’t know why but this sounded like a good idea.   Then, I blended the heck out of the mix trying to get an even mix.   I think I probably could have mixed even longer but I didn’t want it to be all fluffy or something.

These pies are going to be my contribution to the CSA potluck tomorrow out at Lattin Farms.    I’ll let you know more about that later … there will be pictures to share, I’m sure.

 

8 responses

  1. “Pie sounds better than soup, doesn’t it?” completely agree. There are tons of squash soup recipes out there but for some reason I can’t bring myself to make soup out of the squashes… yet.

    November 9, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  2. What a great idea–thanks for the inspiration. I’ve got a pile of acorn squash in my breakfast nook just hanging out waiting until I’m no longer getting weekly farm share deliveries. Too busy dealing with fresh greens to fuss with a long-storing squash. But pie . . . I could get ’round to eating acorn squash in a pie. Thanks!

    November 10, 2012 at 3:59 am

  3. This looks delicious!

    November 11, 2012 at 1:23 am

  4. I want to plant my face in this and eat every single morsel…is that bad?

    ps: thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    November 14, 2012 at 1:40 am

Leave a Reply

