Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Six

The air is cold and there is a storm coming over the mountains.    It is going to snow tonight.  This makes me realize that there are only a few more weeks of the CSA boxes left to enjoy and I am a little sad.

That is … until I see the goodies in this week’s box.   What did I get?

  • spaghetti squash
  • delicata squash
  • carrots
  • turnips
  • carrots
  • mizuna and mixed lettuce
  • parsley
  • onions
  • potatoes
  • radishes

AND … a chile pepper ristra from Debbie Coblentz.

What’s a chile pepper ristra?   According to the CSA newsletter, it is Mexican folklore that hanging a ristra on your door or in your home brings good luck.   The ristra is a bunch of hot peppers attached together by a string that have been dried.   The note on the peppers suggests putting a little bit in recipes throughout the year and to use them up by next spring.

Isn’t it cute??

 

 

3 responses

  1. That’s adorable! Even though I don’t really use a lot of dried chilies I’d like one in my kitchen. I think I tried to make one once when I had a bunch of hot peppers in the farm share, and a hanging pot rack in the kitchen, but I believe I tossed it when we moved.
    Delicata squash–check out A Veggie Venture’s delicata squash and hot pepper jelly. I served that for Thanksgiving once when I had a delicata in the farm share and it was well-received.

    November 9, 2012 at 7:17 am

  2. very cute!

    And those delicatas! I just roasted mine a few weeks ago with some cinnamon, nutmeg and a sprinkle of brown sugar and salt. the result? let’s just say I thought I was eating dessert…so scrumptious!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    November 14, 2012 at 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

