Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Grilled Kielbasa with Fennel and Pears

Magic happens when you get creative.

Fennel has an interesting licorice flavor and this recipe was a food experiment.    Partially because I didn’t think the fennel bulb was big enough to do something else with it and what I had left in the kitchen that I wanted to use:   pears and a random kielbasa sausage.

After a quick Google, I found a Rachel Ray suggestion to put these bad boys together and viola!   A Sunday afternoon football-watching snack was born.   Rach’s version is HERE.

I started to go straight from the recipe but the pears were really ripe and I wasn’t sure if the fennel would slice well enough to withstand the real grill in my backyard.   So, I used a grill pan in the kitchen and modified just a touch.   I cooked the kielbasa first to get some good greasy juices going in the pan.   Then, I was pretty generous with the honey and skipped the oil, etc all together.   I even used some of the local honey that I bought when I was out in Fallon a couple of weeks ago.

I kept the kielbasa to the side and grilled the pears and fennel quickly by themselves.    And, a thought a little cup of spicy mustard for dipping would be just the right touch.

The sweet and savory was absolutely fantastic with the strong flavor of the fennel.   I will admit that it was a messy plate but IT WAS GOOD.   If I made this for a party or as an appetizer for a group, I would make mini-kabobs ahead of time and put them on the grill.   For me and the hubs, though, this was just fine.

 

9 responses

  1. Perfect dish for two. I also love Rachel Ray and watch most of her shows! 🙂

    November 4, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    • I love her. She just makes sense to me. And, it seems like she would be that fun in real life, too.

      November 4, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      • Wouldn’t mind hanging out with her up close and personal.

        November 15, 2012 at 9:32 am

      • haha 🙂 My hubby says the same thing. He also thinks she is quite the pot smoker because of her raspy voice.

        November 15, 2012 at 9:45 am

  2. This sounds delicious! Messy and good.

    November 5, 2012 at 10:57 am

  3. I’ve never grilled fennel, but I just might now. I dont care for licorice but I do like its flavor in subtle doses like Thai basil or anise. These are great pics as always. I have been grilling kielbasa for years as I am a polish-american who loves the grill. Wise move with the spicy mustard! Rachael Ray has some amazing recipes, her horseradish turkey burgers are the only turkey burgers I make and I do so often (also better in a pan than on the real grill).

    November 6, 2012 at 2:20 pm

  4. Melissa

    This sounds great! I don’t love the licorice taste of fennel, but with the sweetness of the pears and honey it seems like it would be a nice balance. Thanks for the idea!

    November 7, 2012 at 4:53 am

  5. Love the idea of grilled fennel and pears…so creative 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    November 7, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

