Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Five

The winter veggies are definitely here.   It even snowed a little bit last week!   And, of course, the high today is supposed to be 70 so you never can tell what you are going to get weatherwise.   I’m just glad we don’t have hurricanes and, even when it does snow or rain, we usually have big blue skies the next day.

So, what veggies did I get?  First, I was super happy to see one of these pretty hiratake mushrooms from Sierra’s Edible’s:

Then, there’s the rest of the goods:

Starting from the top left there is a stripetti spaghetti squash — wha?whoo?    According the newsletter/instructions, that is a cross between a delicata and a spaghetti squash.    Still has the spaghetti texture with the striped outer skin.   Who knew?

Then, we have the mushroom, a bag of potatoes, mixed lettuce greens, carrots, yellow onions, a big butternut squash, purple basil (can you smell it?) and a nice bag of shallots.   And, yup — that’s all certified organic stuff.   For reals.

Does anyone know how long squash will keep?   I have a couple still sitting around the kitchen from last week.   I need to figure something spectacular to do with them for this weekend.    Ideas?

 

2 responses

  1. Melissa

    The farm where I get my CSA said that the squash we get now should keep until December if you keep it in a cool, dark place (like a pantry). I just made a really good Butternut Squash Risotto that I would definitley recommend, but I’m looking for more squash recipes too, so I’ll be watching this for ideas!

    http://lettuceneversquashourlove.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/butternet-squash-risotto/

    November 7, 2012 at 5:43 am

Leave a Reply

