Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Octoberfest Burgers with Baked Squash Fries

I love Rachel Ray.   She’s easy to keep up with (assuming you don’t really expect to cook a full dinner in 30 minutes) and her taste buds know what’s good.

I guess I’m getting too big for my food-bloggy britches because I have decided to modify her Wurst Rueben Burger recipe.   The original is something like this:

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 large onion, quartered lengthwise then thinly sliced
  • Splash water
  • 2 tablespoons spicy mustard
  • 1 pound sack sauerkraut, rinsed and drained
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup pickle relish
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground pork or ground pork and veal combined
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon celery seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 2 tablespoons cider or white wine vinegar
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 deli slices Emmentaler Swiss cheese, folded to fit burgers
  • 4 seeded or plain burger rolls, split
  • 4 leaves red leaf or red romaine lettuce

Directions

Heat medium skillet over medium heat, add the butter and when melted add the onions and cook until soft and tender, 20 minutes. When done, add a splash of water and stir in the mustard.Add sauerkraut to a small pot and keep warm over low heat.   Combine sour cream, ketchup and relish in a small bowl and reserve.   In a large bowl, combine the meat, spices, parsley, vinegar and salt and pepper, to taste. Form 4 patties, thinner at middle and thicker at edges for more even cooking and to prevent burgers from bulging at the middle. Heat the oil in nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Cook patties 5 minutes on each side. Melt the cheese over the patties the last 2 minutes of cooking, under foil tent.   To serve, pile the onions on the bun bottoms and top with a leaf of lettuce, cheese wurst burger, sauerkraut, and the sour cream sauce. Cover with the tops of the buns and serve.

My modifications were minor:

  • Add a (sliced/peeled/cored) apple to the onion saute party.   This was a fantastic combo.
  • I didn’t really like the sour cream/ketchup sauce.   I’m more of a spicy mustard gal.    More mustard, please!

And, Rachel’s original meal plan had regular potato fries (her flair, of course).    I did the baked butternut squash fries that I blogged about a while back.   That post can be found HERE.

 

11 responses

  1. Yum! I love to be inspired by her burger combinations (though when I read the amount of meat for 4 patties it stops me in my tracks). This sounds delicious. Since the deli that I was going to drag my spouse to, to have a really decent Reuben, just closed I may have to try this to get my Reuben fix. Perhaps with some homemade sauerkraut . . .

    Thanks!

    October 31, 2012 at 9:58 am

    • Homemade sauerkraut, yum. I do have to admit that this wasn’t a good substitute for a Reuben though. I like mine the corned beef way. It is a good burger for something different.

      November 1, 2012 at 5:37 am

  2. Congratulations! I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award. If you are interested in participating you can pick up your badge icon and the rules here: http://cantstayoutofthekitchen.com/2012/10/31/the-sunshine-blog-award/
    I hope you will be willing to participate.

    October 31, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  3. Interesting variation–I love sauerkraut!

    November 1, 2012 at 5:43 am

  4. Oooo your photo looks delish! I kind of like the idea of that sour cream ketchup topping! I think I will try that next time on a burger yum!

    November 3, 2012 at 12:42 pm

  5. Wow! This looks freaking amazing…And I LOVE your addition of the squash fries.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    November 7, 2012 at 3:11 pm

  6. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #51 « In Her Chucks

  7. Lu

    I nominated your amazing and beautiful blog for The One Lovely Blog Award. I am a vegetarian myself and I think your blog is incredible. Go here to find out more about it:
    http://lusays.com/2012/11/13/the-one-lovely-blog-award-nomination/
    Best wishes to you!

    November 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

