Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Secret Recipe Chili and Twice Baked Potato Casserole

At my house, the hubs is the chili craftsman.   He makes the chili.   Period.    It’s his secret recipe of goodness and I’m ok with that.    So, you just get pictures of that one today with a bonus recipe from me, Twice Baked Potato Casserole.

I decided that we just needed some little something to add to the chili and I have learned that my dude is just not a cornbread fan.   (I know … I don’t know what’s wrong with him.   But, the chili is soooo good that I can overlook this one flaw.)

Here’s a the original recipe from http://www.tasteofhome.com:

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 pounds red potatoes (about 6 medium), baked
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 pound sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 3 cups (24 ounces) sour cream
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 green onions, sliced

Directions

  • Cut baked potatoes into 1-in. cubes. Place half in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Sprinkle with half of the salt, pepper and bacon. Top with half of the sour cream and cheeses. Repeat layers.
  • Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until cheeses are melted. Sprinkle with onions. Yield: 6-8 servings.

And, of course, here are my modifications:

I baked the potatoes, let them cool and peeled off the skins by hand.   I traded ricotta cheese for sour cream because it was what I had available.   And, I only used cheddar cheese on top.   No green onions.   Instead, I chopped up two big anaheim chiles and put them right in the mix.

I love stuffed baked potatoes so covering a big scoop of this casserole with chili was outstanding.   Perfect for a ‘chilly’ autumn afternoon.

 

 

4 responses

  1. That looks delicious, and even though it seems NUTS! to have chili without cornbread, I bet this is so tasty that I could get over the omission. In fact, a friend who makes an award-winning secret recipe chili serves baked potatoes at her chili parties-especially good for the kiddos who won’t eat the chili but will have a potato w/ fixings.

    October 30, 2012 at 6:23 am

  2. Looks like the perfect autumn meal 🙂 Thanks for sharing and linking up.

    Happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2012 at 12:08 am

  3. Mmm I love new ideas for what to serve with chili. And I LOVE this potato casserole, looks awesome. Pretty sure my two favourite things are potatoes and cheese 🙂 Bookmarked!

    November 3, 2012 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

