Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Romanian Pepper Salad

Here’s a quickie salad idea that came from my CSA’s weekly newsletter.    It’s basically peppers, olives, feta cheese and the vinaigrette of your choice.  I amped it up a little bit but you get the general idea.

This is the Romanian pepper pile.   I had a bunch of them from the last couple of weeks and this salad was a great opportunity to use them all up at the same time.   Clean, seed, chop up in bite size chunks.

Then, I added a small jar of olives that was probably given to me in one of those gifty box type of things.   Just plain dumped the whole thing into the mix, oil and all.  One small container of crumbled feta cheese and some white balsamic vinegar.  Pow!   Salad.   Done.

Dinner was grilled chicken breasts with a mushroom gravy and rice with this lovely side salad.    There was plenty left over so I cut up the chicken and added it to the pepper salad for a quick lunchbox treat the next day.

 

 

4 responses

  1. that looks delicious and easy-reminds me of something similar from Bulgaria called chopska or something like that. My folks brought the recipe back with them.

    Thanks!

    October 25, 2012 at 9:44 am

  2. Well aren’t you on a CSA roll! Reminds me of my favorite salad from a local pizza parlor…yum!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    October 28, 2012 at 12:15 am

Leave a Reply

