Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Gnudi

OK.   First things first … what the heck is a gnudi???    It’s a dumpling sort of thing and definitely Italian.    I think traditionally it is made with ricotta and flour but there are lots of variations out there to chose from if you look.   I found it through a bloggy friend.   The Purple Soybean Nap Avenger made acorn squash gnudi and I just had to try it.   Her recipe is HERE.

I realized that I had pumpkin/squash overload going on at my house and, well, after the Green Bean Armageddon, I thought maybe these squash just needed a new weapon.   Gnudi is their weapon.

Or, since the word is pronounced “nude-y,” and I really like to say silly words, I just like to have an excuse to say gnudi a bunch of times.  Yup.   That’s it.

Now, I need to confess.   This is a complicated recipe in that it really does take time and patience.   I don’t even pretend to have either.   And, after actually completing this project, I know that someone’s Italian grandma would absolutely school me on all things gnudi.   This was a food adventure experiment for me.   That’s all.  Period.

And, while we are on the subject, I cussed that Purple Soybean‘s name a couple of times while making this damn gnudi.   It was a pain.

But, as shown below, it was worth it.

I usually don’t start with the final picture first but I just wanted you to see what it is all about with this gnudi business.  (hee hee, gnudi business)

Anywho … I used a mix of roast acorn squash and pumpkin for my start and added the eggs, spices and flour.

  The mix sat overnight and then I scooped it out onto wax paper.   It was a gooey mess.

  Then, you are supposed to quarter the scoops and drop the dumplings into boiling water.    Ya, right.   This is a messy blob of goop.   Don’t kid yourself.   I’m guessing this is the point where Italian Grandma is going to show me how it’s done.   I struggled.

  And, to be truthful, I almost gave up at this point.   I mean, look at it.   It doesn’t look appetizing.   It looks like baby poop.    Gnudi was a pain in the pa-tootie.   And, it looked BAD.   But, I kept going … I had come this far.   I had to finish.   And, I’m stubborn.

So, right at this point, the butter sauce, is where I figured out that I didn’t have fresh sage (or even dried for that matter) and I went rogue.    I had some fresh roasted garlic tomato sauce that I made a while back.   I figured it wouldn’t suck to cover the gnudi in that with some parmesan cheese.

I was right.    These pillow-y little dumplings were smooth with just a hint of roasted vegetable taste.   My husband ate a full second helping.

Good stuff.

Gnudi rocks.

15 responses

  1. You actually made gnudi using my instructions AND succeeded?!? With pictures, too??!!?? You are AMAZING! I’m actually ridiculously proud that you attempted my version of the recipe *^_^*

    I honestly figured most people would prefer to look up the original recipe and follow those instructions instead, since my directions were just the haphazard method I used to cope with the ridiculously wet dough! 😀

    Plus, truthfully… I didn’t wait overnight to form them. I was just too impatient for the final product and started forming them maybe after 20-30minutes rest… I guess the resting period makes no difference whatsoever in the gooeyness 😛

    P.S.: the frozen gnudi are awesome with short rib spaghetti sauce and so much better than just butter & sage ^_^

    October 23, 2012 at 7:44 am

    • I had never heard of a gnudi until now. Good stuff. Probably even better when someone else makes them for you. LOL

      October 23, 2012 at 8:45 am

      • Point taken! ;D I wonder if you could ever find gnudi on a restaurant menu… mind you, sometimes restaurants aren’t the best place to have this kind of thing — I’ve noticed that being the case of gnocchi!

        October 23, 2012 at 2:18 pm

      • I wondered the same thing. And, I have had some terrible gnocchi in restaurants. If it’s not fresh, it’s not the same. I’m betting frozen/mass produced gnudi is not good either.

        October 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  2. Ok, seen this twice now, if I see it a 3rd time, perhaps I’ll try it. I had gnocchi first when I was a kid, at my neighbor’s house (Italian diplomats, real home cooking, and it was merely the pasta course). I’d love to have it if someone else made it!

    October 25, 2012 at 9:31 am

    • I’ve made gnocchi a couple of times, and it is a process as well. But not as gooey as gnudi appears to be. I’ve never heard of gnudi before. I might try it one day just to freak out my family! 🙂

      October 28, 2012 at 10:02 am

  3. These look delicious! I have had gnudi on my list to try for a while, and you may have finally inspired me…

    October 26, 2012 at 9:41 am

  4. I love gnudi – but this variation sounds amazing, can’t wait to try it!

    October 27, 2012 at 11:44 pm

  5. Thank you for introducing me to my new best friend. I WILL be making this ASAP…

    ps: thanks for linking up 😉

    October 28, 2012 at 12:12 am

  6. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #50 « In Her Chucks

  7. Wow this looks so cool! If I didn’t have a baby I would totally be trying this tonight! But you’ve scared me…. Maybe next year…

    November 1, 2012 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

