Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Salted Caramel Apple Butter

Thanks to your suggestions, I figured out what to do with that huge box of apples.   Make gifts!

Apple butter is something that I had not made this year and I know it’s super easy.    The basics are to peel and core a bunch of apples, cover with water and spices (allspice, ground cloves, cinnamon), pour off the water (I kept it for hot cider to drink) and then cook down until you have the right velvety consistency you are looking to can.    Pow!   I can do this.   For better instructions, THIS is were I started for the guidelines.

I did go crazy on the cinnamon and really put a lot in the mix (because that’s the way I like it).   And, I got all sassy and added ginger to the boil.   Fresh ginger.   (spicy!)   Then, toward the finish line, I put in about 3/4 of a bag of pre-made caramels and a bunch of sea salt (for added flair).

The real rocket science for me will be to can this stuff in jars and not screw it up.   (Flashback to the peaches and pears.   Gross.)

I know I like to see the photos in everyone else’s blog so this is the good stuff:

Here’s to some caramel with salt on it … sinking into the hot apple butter!

Something that you need to know about this amazing apple butter is that the caramel process is the best part.    For those of you who like to dip (spinach dip, chips and dip, ranch dip, whatever), this gooey caramel melting pot is right up your alley.   I was stirring along being a well behaved foodie when I noticed that the caramel was globbing up on the spoon.   Ooooh my sexy caramel weakness … so, I had to try it, RIGHT?   Holy geezus.   Best mistake I ever made.   I could have dipped and searched out bits of caramel for the rest of the day.   I really don’t know why I didn’t.

I did feel bad enough to put a couple of replacement caramels back in the mix.   It was that good while it was screaming hot like that.    If it didn’t take all day (and a box of apples) to make, I would do this at every party I have in the future.   Hot caramel apple fondue.   GENIUS!

Back to business, seriously … follow the canning instructions.   Hot food into hot jars back into hot water to process.   Make this your mantra.

I wonder who will be lucky enough to receive one of these blessed little jars of goodness for Christmas?    Have YOU been good?

 

11 responses

  1. This sounds heavenly; warm, molten, salted caramel. Mmmmmm. I could be as good (or as bad) as you want for one of those! 🙂

    October 22, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  2. Bookmarked! This sounds divine!

    October 28, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  3. I made this today to take to my sister’s for Thanksgiving. I had three huge apples that made two nice jars full. Unwrapping all those caramels got a little tedious. But the kids weren’t around, so most of them actually made it into the apple butter. 🙂

    November 17, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  4. Pingback: Storing Fresh Ginger | csamom

  5. Felicia

    Hello, I’ve been looking for this recipe everywhere! I know it’s a little old but hopefully you still have it, can you share???

    December 13, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    • Well … I started with a regular apple butter recipe (there’s a link to a basic recipe in the post) and then added some grated fresh ginger (not much just a touch for Zing!). Then, I used the better part of a regular Kraft bag of caramels. And, about a full 30 seconds of fresh ground sea salt … that being the time I stood there just grinding, grinding, grinding. It did take all day for it to cook down in the crock pot so there was considerable patience and stirring involved. 🙂 Good luck!

      December 13, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      • Felicia

        I just saw your reply.
        Mine is finishing up right now. I used my whole bag of caramels, and a tsp of sea salt to be on the safe side. But it tastes amazing!!!

        December 16, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      • Perfect! I’m glad you made it.

        December 17, 2013 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

