Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Three

What did we get this week?

Organic Summer Squash, Organic Peppers, Organic Tango Lettuce, Organic Acorn Squash, Organic Butternut Squash, Organic Cherry Tomatoes, Organic Tomatoes, Fennel Bulb from Salisha’s Delicious, Purslane from Debbie Coblentz, Apples from Friendly Fernley Franklin Farms and Green Beans from River Bend Turf Farms.

I am pretty excited about that fennel bulb.   It smells amazing.    And, even my husband was excited to see lettuce again.    It will not go to waste.

The fruit share from Kelley’s Canyon Orchard is a FULL box of apples, pears and I think I saw a peach or two in there.   The box is super heavy.   I am going to have my work cut out for me this week finding ways to preserve these apples.    I took a full basket of apples to my office earlier this week trying to get people to eat them before they go bad.    It’s definitely APPLE SEASON!

Anyone want some apples?     OH!   Maybe, I’ll make something yummy to send to pre-school with my little guy and he can share with the 60 other kids.    Hmmm … any suggestions?

 

8 responses

  1. Crock pot apple butter-but cut the sugar a bit and unwrap some caramels towards the end to make crock pot caramel apple butter (then can and give it to your coworkers as gifts!) I got the recipe from pickyourown.org
    And fennel-jealous! I use any fennel I can get my mitts on in my Kirsten’s Kickin Spaghetti Sauce on TastyKitchen

    Yum!

    October 19, 2012 at 11:33 am

  2. I assemble apple crisp in a tin foil cake pan and freeze it to take as a gift for others. I buy the foil pans with lids and put thawing and baking instructions on masking tape on the lid.

    The fennel sounds great. I love it with roasted vegetables.

    October 20, 2012 at 11:55 am

  3. I say, apple crisp! Or apple pie. I’ve made both recently, and since the pie is almost gone, I’m sure I’ll be making more apple-goodness this weekend.

    October 24, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  4. I just saw a link on the party for tons of great ideas using apples…http://myyummylocallife.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/canning-2012-apples/.

    Here are some of my favorite snacks using apples…

    http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/18/apple-pie-muffins/
    http://inherchucks.com/2011/12/09/bisquick-apple-coffee-cake/
    http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/08/saturday-surprise/

    Good luck! And as always…thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    October 24, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Leave a Reply

