Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Spaghetti Squash and Green Bean Armageddon

Tonight’s post was supposed to be about spaghetti squash.   And, well, it is.   But, I have to warn you that there was a veggie war at dinner.   It was a massacre.  Veggie armageddon.

Let’s just start at the beginning …

I had never cooked a spaghetti squash before today.   I’m pretty sure that I have eaten some before now but I willingly admit that it does not appear on my table often.   I even had to look up some instructions to make sure how to cook it.    Luckily, it’s pretty simple.   Bake.   That’s pretty much it.   There were a couple of variations in that you just bake it whole or cut it half first.   The difference there seems to be whether or not you enjoy the sport of cutting it and cleaning it first or braving the screaming hot elements of a 400 degree squash full of seeds to get to your meal.   I opted to cut and clean first.    This was not without challenge.   Spaghetti squashes are clearly related to coconuts because they are tough to crack open.   There must be a trick to it.   My advantage was only that I have good knives and a strong will to break a squash open for dinner.

That said, the squash commenced baking at 400 for about 45 minutes.   Viola!

Then, it was almost fun to just take a fork to it and watch it shred into spaghetti-looking noodles.   Silly fun, actually.

I also had a big bag of green beans from the CSA box (a week ago) and I thought these would compliment the squash nicely.   Oh, ya.   Did I mention we were grilling some hefty rib eye steaks for this event?   Yup.   We are carnivores first at my house.

I was tempted to just steam the green beans and leave them a little plain but I happened to see a nifty little recipe from Ree Drummond, Pioneer Woman, that called my name.   And, it includes bacon.   Nom.   Basically, you saute up some onions in bacon grease with just a smoosh of garlic.   Then, you put a mess of green beans in the pan with chicken broth to cook through for about twenty minutes.  The real recipe can be found HERE.

This is the point where anarchy happened.   I’m pretty sure the green beans were up to something from the beginning because they had been in the crisper for so long.   Clearly, they had a plan of attack as they were worried about their status as favored side dish.   The squash have been getting a lot of attention lately, it seems.

This photo is deceiving.   It looks like a happy plate of fantastic food.   Technically, it was.

But, the green beans were devastatingly delicious and stole the show.    They ran away with it.   I mean, how is it even possible that the green beans (ooooh the horror!) were better than the steak?   I cannot believe I typed that.   I love steak.   For the record, I think about steak a lot.   At least, I think about nicely grilled, tasty and juicy, steak a lot.

The green beans were quite possibly the best I have ever eaten.   Really.

The squash didn’t see it coming.   I don’t think the squash even knew there was a war.    It just laid down and died.   Probably because spaghetti squash is kind of boring.    It has a fun texture (as in, it likes to party) but spaghetti squash doesn’t have a ton of flavor.   If I cook it again, I will make sure it goes with a stronger flavor compliment like a tomato sauce or maybe a chicken cacciatore.   Spaghetti squash is not a contender in the veggie war.   The green beans are fighters definitely won the taste challenge tonight.

Or, maybe, I beat the fight out of the squash when I cut it open.   It was much tougher at that point.   But, I don’t think it would have been tasty that way at all.

 

6 responses

  1. try flipping the squash over halfway through cooking and seasoning generously with salt pepper and paprika. Add a Tbsp of butter and sliced garlic when the butter melts, brush it all over the squash. That makes it tastier. And of course any sauce that goes well with actual spaghetti works well. Otherwise its just like plain spaghetti which is pretty boring! I have a recipe for spaghetti squash primavera on my blog if you’re interested 🙂

    October 16, 2012 at 12:49 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      Thanks! I’ll check it out! I was going for plain this time on purpose because I wanted to see what it was like … now I know. haha

      October 16, 2012 at 8:12 am

  2. Oh those green beans sound good! I used ours nuked a bit and tossed with some bacon, but I didn’t nuke them thoroughly so they were still very crisp. And there are leftovers. No worries, though-the leftover green beans will go inside Shepherd’s Pie to be topped with leftover mashed potatoes. (Indeed, if you make 5 lbs of potatoes for 4 people there will be leftovers LOL). I picked up a flank steak in the marked down area because I keep reading all about flank steak. What would you do with it?

    October 16, 2012 at 3:55 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      We like to marinate flank steak in just about anything with soy sauce then grill it for a little bit on the BBQ. It’s a regular at our house because it’s a lot cheaper than other cuts.

      October 16, 2012 at 8:14 am

  3. Garlic butter & parmesan cheese. That’s what the spaghetti squash needed. We have it occasionally, and it’s quite good. We are getting green beans again in our CSA box. I blanch them and then keep them in the fridge,using only a handful at a time. I usually melt butter, throw in some slivered almonds, brown those, then toss in the green beans to warm through. We think those are just the best. As you can probably tell, I use lots of butter with my veggies, but we don’t eat much meat. GAve our barbecue grill away.

    October 17, 2012 at 11:56 am

Leave a Reply

