Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Sunday Morning Hash

At my house, weekend breakfasts are kind of a big deal.   We tend to lean hard on the bacon and eggs side of things but I love a good mess of home fries or hashbrowns.    Today, was one of those Sundays where no one was terribly inspired to make Eiffel Tower pancakes or anything special.    So, we made ‘do.’   We jokingly call it ‘making use of the resources available’ while others would call it ‘repurposing leftovers.’    Whatever you want to call it, breakfast is good.

Today,  I went for all of  the things that I have too much of from the CSA box and/or leftover from dinner earlier in the week.

I started with some potatoes … then, the recipe grew …

Peppers seemed like a good idea.   I just picked three different colors.   Pretty scientific.

I added a big tomato but it was a lot juicier than I expected.   It was at this point that I gave up all hope for crunchy potatoes.   I went for flavor and added the leftover apple cider pulled pork and covered it with cheese.

The end result was pretty good.   And, it powered us up for a good day of getting chores done around the house and running errands.

4 responses

  1. I love doing this with leftover veggies–usually topped with cheese and an egg. Great breakfast!

    October 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      We were short on eggs. Otherwise, that would have gone in there, too! LOL

      October 15, 2012 at 7:45 pm

  2. Hash is a big hit at our house as well! Left overs from a roast and veggies are the most common base. I chop everything up and cook the hash a day ahead. Its is one of those dishes that gets better with age and the family is excited when they know hash is coming tomorrow morning. IF there are any leftovers, it makes great quick breakfasts during the week as well.

    October 20, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

