Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Fall CSA, Week Two

I have to admit that for the first time all year, I wasn’t really all that excited to go get the veggie box this week.   Feeling kind of uninspired.   Blah.    No reason.   Just blah.

Getting my tookus to the store and getting the veggie and fruit boxes did perk me up a bit, though.   It’s hard to not be impressed by the fresh box of goodies.   And, I did notice that I could smell the pears while I was driving home in the car.   (So, I ate one with dinner.)

Allrighty then, what’s on the menu this week?

image

Anaheim and romanian peppers, delicata squash, spaghetti squash, heirloom tomatoes, roma tomatoes, summer squash, eggplant (they are cute little white ones … too bad I hate them so much), cherry tomatoes, garlic chives, onions and potatoes

image

The fruit box was full of all kinds of goodies.   Four different varieties of apples, pears and a couple of peaches.

image

The CSA newletter included a recipe for stuffed eggplant that looked (almost) good enough to make me try another attempt at eggplant.   Maybe.   Here’s a link to their site, if you want to check it out.  There’s even some good information on the nutritional value of my dreaded foe, the Ughplant.

12 responses

  1. I’m sad that you don’t like eggplant. Have you tried these? http://projects.washingtonpost.com/recipes/2007/07/25/eggplant-chips/
    I won’t pretend that I love eggplant, but we have reached an understanding. Now I marinate it (in something like Italian salad dressing, or oil, vinegar, and spices), roast or grill it, and toss the result into spaghetti sauce. Here’s a not-really-a-recipe: http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/canning/kirstene28099s-kickin-spaghetti-sauce/

    October 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      Eggplant chips. Now, that’s creative! Hmmm …

      October 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

      • Haha, my twin when it comes to the feelings I have for eggplant 🙂 Those are really cute though! Oooo you got a delicata squash mmmm.

        October 13, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      • I guess this year was a bumper crop of eggplant (all over the place) for whatever reason. Bleck.

        October 14, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    • Thanks for this eggplant inspiration! I’m not a fan of eggplant so this is great 🙂 Always looking for a recipe that suits my limited taste for eggplant 🙂

      October 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm

  2. I thought the stuffed eggplant looked pretty good, too.

    October 12, 2012 at 10:08 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      🙂

      October 12, 2012 at 10:26 am

  3. I feel you on eggplant! I got three little purple ones this week that I’m trying to decide what to do with. I have noticed I kinda like it when I’ve thoroughly salted it to remove the bitterness and then cooked it in such a way to reduce the mushiness (mainly roasting). I also love really good, smokey baba ghanoush, but I’ve never made it myself.

    October 16, 2012 at 11:49 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      I was pretty excited to try baba ghanoush once upon a time … I think it was because I like to SAY baba ghanoush. And that was the ONLY reason. 😦 bleck LOL

      October 16, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  4. Those eggplants are pretty cute. How about pizza? http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/garden-eggplant-pizza-10000001057286/. I promise it’s a winner!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

    October 17, 2012 at 12:32 am

    • That is going to be a pretty tough sell at my house. The boys are serious meat lovers pizza kind of guys.

      October 17, 2012 at 8:38 am

      • Add grilled chicken?

        October 17, 2012 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

