Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Pulled Pork Poppers

There is no fear of pork in our home.    So, when I saw a recipe for apple cider pulled pork the other day, I thought that sounded like a good way to use up some apples from our CSA share.    No problem.   Easy recipe, too.     All you do is plunk a nice sized pork shoulder roast in the crock pot with a couple of cored apples, a yellow onion, about a 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar, one cup of water and a sprinkle of cinnamon over the top.   Leave it on low and go to work.   Done.

I was even inspired enough to find some cute little soft pretzel rolls to serve the pulled pork on for dinner.   Sounds, pretty yummy, right?   Too bad that’s not how it went down.   Oh, but nooooooooooo … we had to take this to the next level.   For real.   Brilliant flash of lightning!   Ka-pow!

A side effect of a few weeks of not really doing anything with the jalapenos that were in the CSA share has left me with a nice little pile of peppers.    I felt that these needed to get some use.   Like, now.

Over the weekend, I saw a bacon-wrapped jalapeno popper recipe that sounded pretty decent but I wasn’t really interested in cream cheese.    I wanted something more …

How about pulled pork, a dab of BBQ sauce and cheddar cheese stuffed into these pretty peppers??   Boo-ya!   Now we’re talkin’!

Check this out:

No recipe.  No instructions.   Just do it.   I cleaned the peppers and then baked these hotties up for about ten minutes at 350.   There was a nice little afterburner of hot but not so much that your face burned off or anything.   Perfect!

14 responses

  1. PEPPERMEISTER!

    Yum! These look perfect. Great use of jalapeños. This time of year, I like to cook my pork with some pumpkin ale. Spicy and seasonal!

    October 9, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      I was actually thinking about making some pumpkin beer. I have the gear in the basement (somewhere). Our favorite brewery here makes a jalapeno ale. Pumpkin/jalapeno? Hmmm. That might be too much. LOL

      October 9, 2012 at 9:08 am

  2. Sooo weird. I just found a bacon wrapped jalapeno recipe the other day and tried it on the stupid amount of peppers I still have from my garden. The verdict– good but greasy. I woulda been happier if I’d breaded and baked them… or tried this recipe!!! I worked out my crock pot Cuban Pork last week. Whyyyyy didn’t I think to put the pork in the peppers? You are much more pepper-savvy than me!
    I wanted to drop you a quick line and let you know that I moved the hosting for Sugar Dish Me so it won’t appear in your wp.com reader anymore, The address is still the same http://www.sugardishme.com/ and I’d love it if you’d re-subscribe via email or rss feed. Thanks for taking the time to read and interact at Sugar Dish Me! I appreciate you!
    Also… I’m gonna crank out that cider pork recipe. Thaaaank you!

    October 9, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      This made me laugh. Ya, that’s why I didn’t want the greasy version! 🙂

      October 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  3. I LOVE pork + apples! I am totally trying that pulled pork recipe!!!!

    October 9, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      It was so good. Tender, just right.

      October 9, 2012 at 9:38 pm

  4. You go! Those are the best meals-happy accidents in the kitchen when you combine this and that.

    October 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      🙂

      October 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  5. What a fun recipe; I LOVE pulled pork and this is incredible. SUCH a great idea!

    October 12, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      I think I’m going to do it again this week — it was THAT good.

      October 14, 2012 at 11:36 am

  6. Love it!.

    October 21, 2012 at 8:47 pm

  7. Pingback: Peppermeister’s 2012 Chile Seed Giveaway! « PEPPERMEISTER!

Leave a Reply

