Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Gone to Seed

Fall=pumpkins.   And, I know I’m supposed to love pumpkin spice flavored anything but what I really love about pumpkins are the seeds!  Sadly, I have the feeling that most of the world just throws the guts of the pumpkins in the garbage, seeds and all, when they carve up a jack-o-lantern or make a pie.   Oh, what a shame.   People, don’t let the good stuff go to waste.

How do you roast pumpkin seeds?   Just rinse the pumpkin guts off of them, sprinkle with salt and cook in the oven until lightly brown.   For my taste, this is about 10 minutes at 400 degrees.   You do need to keep an eye on them, though.   Sometimes, it takes a little bit longer and sometimes it is super quick.   But, that might just be how my oven cooks things.

I roasted a whole pumpkin as a side effort to getting to the seeds.  I haven’t quite decided what to make with the big container of orange pumpkin-y-ness yet.   But, I am definitely snacking on the roasted seeds.

Since there have been quite a few big autumn squashes in the CSA box, I decided to try those seeds in the mix, too.   Guess what?   They are just as awesome as pumpkin seeds!   So, don’t go wasting all of those acorn, butternut, delicata seeds.   Save ’em, salt ’em, roast ’em!

12 responses

  1. I wish we were neighbors-I’d give you my seeds in trade for your pumpkin!

    October 8, 2012 at 9:08 am

  2. I love pumpkin seeds and have since I was a kid. The season wouldn’t be the same without them. But I have also since learned that you can roast many types of seeds.

    October 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

  3. Roasting squash seeds is such a good idea. I guess I knew this was possible but I still never do it. I will have to correct that this year!

    October 9, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      Well worth the effort!

      October 9, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  4. I love roasted pumpkin seeds too! I seem to be the only one in this house. More for me! And I looooove your cute peachy pumpkin!

    October 9, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      Yup. All mine, too!

      October 9, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  5. I am guilty of getting rid of my seeds 😦 Thanks for the encouragement to use them and enjoy them. Will remember this next time I am scooping them out of my produce…

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    October 10, 2012 at 12:32 am

  6. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #47 « In Her Chucks

  7. My daughter insists on roasting the seeds, so your post is super timely as I have two pumpkins in this weeks box. I don’t know why I never thought to roast the seeds of other squash. When they start coming we will definitely throw them into the mix as well.

    October 13, 2012 at 9:00 am

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      I hadn’t thought of it before either! Very tasty.

      October 14, 2012 at 11:38 am

Leave a Reply

