Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Prune-y Balsamic Reduction Sauce

Prunes.   Until now, I had honestly not ever even seen a real, live fresh prune.   I have only ever been not-so-privileged to see the dehydrated kind at the store.   And, well, those are for old people with digestive problems.   Or, that’s what I thought …

image

These are beautiful.   They look so harmless.   Like little plums.   Yummy even …

I don’t know why but I was surprised by their interior color and little pit.   I was a little afraid to try them.

image

Totally good!   The texture is a little different but not bad and the flavor was just lightly sweet.

OK — what the heck!   Prunes for dinner!   One quick Google search later and I found a nice Food Network recipe from Melissa D’Arabian for Pot Roast Carbonnade.

Then, life happened.    I forgot to bring home the meat to cook in the crockpot.   I was in a hurry, etc.     Dinner still needed to happened but it was more of a bad episode of Chopped/Iron Chef/Rachel Ray than the friendly, cute (and organized) Melissa.   Here’s my short cut recipe:

  • One decent size chuck roast or similiar cut of beef
  • Handful of fresh prunes, cleaned and pitted
  • About a cup of balsamic vinegar

I seared the chuck roast on both sides to get a nice crust on the outside, seasoned heavily with salt and pepper, then, covered it to cook through while I made side dishes.

In another pan, I fried up some fresh, new potatoes.   Nothing fancy, just get some seasoning on them and cook.

I also had some fresh green beans.   Clean ’em and get in hot water to steam.   Finish with seasonings and just a touch of butter for velvelty flavor.

Now, for the prunes.     I chopped them up a little bit so they wouldn’t be all gigantic, dropped them in a sauce pot and covered them in balsamic vinegar.    The whole mix just needs to boil down a bit to make a nice reduction sauce.   Trust me, this is going to be good!

The sweet-tart of the balsamic vinegar and the prunes melted together and really made a nice sauce over the chuck roast (which was NOT the best cut of meat).   I think the sauce saved dinner and I highly recommend trying it.

Prunes are good stuff!    If you get a chance, try the fresh ones.    They’re not just for old people.

9 responses

  1. This looks freaking amazing! I will have to make this myself.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Hope you link up to this week’s party…or #47…

    October 6, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    • It was soooooo good. I’m having a problem with the Link party??? Site error. 😦

      October 7, 2012 at 11:20 am

      • huh…ill check it out…and let you know…

        October 7, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      • It should be working now. Someone just added a link and it went through….

        October 7, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  2. dustyharms

    That looks so good! Love the colors of the prunes and the bit at the end!

    October 7, 2012 at 12:17 pm

  3. I had a neighbor in Germany who made a lovely plum tart. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough. I’ve always considered plums as a sweet because of that. But you’re making me rethink.

    October 8, 2012 at 9:10 am

    • I must confess that I have a serious balsamic vinegar addicition. I will try anything that includes it. 🙂

      October 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

  4. Totally creative way to use those. This looks amazing! This plum cheesecake looks goooood too I wish I had plums! 😦 http://homemadegobbledygook.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/plum-cheesecake/

    October 9, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply

