Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

How Do Ya Like Them Apples?

Mmmm … this picture is what fall smells like to me.    Apples, pears, a peach or two, cinnamon sticks and whole cloves.   These lovelies just cooked up on the stove all day and made the house smell great.    And, that my bloggy friends, is how I like apples.

After my most recent canning experience, I thought I should try something else with the big box of fruit sitting on my counter.   The freezer is getting full and I just wasn’t up for a pie or cobbler this week.   (My waistline is thanking me.)

Making cider, as it turns out, is absolutely one of the easier cooking projects for me to date.   Simmer fruit all day in a big pot of water and then pour off the juice.   Done.    I’m pretty sure you could make an awesome applesauce or something from the fruit, too.    This time, I just took the juice and called it a day.   Easy peasy.

I poured from the huge pot to the medium pot using a big colander to catch the fruit.   I think I would probably mash the fruit up just a little bit more next time for some extra goodness but I didn’t want to do a ton of filtering.    Originally, I thought I would need another round with a finer mesh but this worked out pretty well.

Then, I transferred the cider to a big pitcher and huge jar.    I added just a touch of sugar to finish.   I think that is up to your tastebuds and how the fruit cooks out so, if you try it, just adjust the sugar to how you like it.    Some might suggest brown sugar instead of refined white and, if you like, honey would be pretty tasty, too.

This is my favorite cup.   I painted it at one of those pottery shops where you make your own stuff.   It is the perfect cup for spiced cider because, when you hold it, your hands just naturally scoop up on both sides so you are forced to breathe in its contents before you take a sip.   The heavenly scent of this spiced cider deserved an awesome cup.

What’s in your cup today?

(This post is my contribution to the Weekly Writing Challenge.   If you are participating, put your link in the comments so I can check it out, too!)

12 responses

  1. Gosh, I remember making that once years and years ago – yours is beautiful!!!

    October 4, 2012 at 2:08 pm

  2. I didn’t think of this… I have cores and peels left from making applesauce. I wonder how cider would turn out from boiling that?

    October 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • It’s worth a try … it might make a good apple tea with a couple of tea bags or loose leaf in there?

      October 4, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  3. I can smell it from here. Wow!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    October 4, 2012 at 11:56 pm

  4. Apple cider and sauce was my first canning project 5 years ago….love it! Thanks for sharing your experiences with us all 🙂

    October 6, 2012 at 11:45 am

    • It’s stupid how easy applesauce and cider are … and how much we pay for them at the store. Sadly, my little guy likes the new pouch applesauce things and the packaging is just so easy. No mess. Soooo, I still buy them.

      October 6, 2012 at 1:45 pm

  5. dustyharms

    That looks amazing, can’t wait to try it with the abundance of apples I’ve been getting in my weekly CSA!

    October 7, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  6. Mmm. That looks delicious!

    October 8, 2012 at 12:11 am

  7. It sounds yum…. I am totally going to try it. Being from New York, I am seriously missing cider these days.

    October 8, 2012 at 1:49 am

Leave a Reply

