Gettin' fresh … in Northern Nevada

Epic Canning Failure

Wow.    If you ever wanted to know what happens if you do not get a proper seal when you can fruit, just ask me.

It makes a really gross mess that happens pretty slowly so you don’t notice it until you discover sweet, rotting syrup running from your cabinets.  Ya.   That kind of gross.

Oh.   And, bonus, there will be this mysterious infestation of ants that will lead you to the syrup trail.    You will be completely grossed out by all of it.   Trust me.

What, pray tell, did I do to deserve this mess?

I did not process the jars well enough to seal them, I guess.    I’m thinking that the mid-week canning session that I was so proud of was just a little too hurried.   Complete failure.   Total waste of time, effort and fruit.

I just wanted to cry.

Then, this happened:

What is that?   That, my bloggy friends, is a foaming jar of near rancid peaches.    Pretty gross, huh?  Oh … but, I’m not done here.   There is a lesson that you need to learn with me.

DO NOT JUST REACH DOWN AND OPEN THAT JAR TO EMPTY THE CONTENTS INTO THE SINK.

DO NOT DO IT.

I did it.

Wanna know what happened next???

It exploded fizzy, sticky, peach syrup all over me!    Did I mention that it is rotting??   Rancid fizzy peach syrup!   Freakin’ gross.   And, just because I feel like oversharing right now, most of it went straight to the front of my neck … gag.

This is how I spent my evening.   Cleaning out the cabinet (above) and cleaning off the counter (below) where the syrup dripped.   It is drying out now.   I bleached everything.    But, I still feel sticky … and a little stupid.

Yuck.

p.s.   Please share your kitchen/cooking/canning disasters with me so I feel better about this.

 

9 responses

  1. Melissa

    Oh, no! It’s bad enough that the canning didn’t work after all your hard work, but having to clean up the mess on top of that is just adding insult to injury. I’m so sorry!

    I’ve never tried canning, so I don’t have any disaster stories about that to share, but I did make a big ol’ mess recently while making bread. I was using my standing mixer with the bread hook to mix the dough. After I added the flour and dry ingredients to the yeast and water mixture, I plugged in the mixer not realizing the switch was set to one of the higher settings! Instead of mixing, a huge cloud of flour poofed all over the counter, cabinets, sink, floor and me!

    Hope that helps!

    October 3, 2012 at 9:33 am

  2. Noooooooooooo!!! Thats so sad.. I would be so upset too! Its so much work canning! Luckily you didn’t get hurt by the exploding jar, sounded scary!

    October 3, 2012 at 9:41 am

    • I did yell and my husband thought I was being attacked.

      October 3, 2012 at 10:09 am

      • Ha ha ha! You were! …. by an exploding jar ;P

        October 3, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  3. Good to know 😉

    October 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm

  4. oh dear 😦

    October 5, 2012 at 12:27 am

  5. Thanks so much for sharing, this is the stuff people dont talk about and its good to know!

    October 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    • freshveggiesinthedesert

      Sometimes ya gotta learn the hard way … right?

      October 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

